Objective 1.1: Develop an environment of skill building through employment and internship opportunities by establishing sustainable partnerships with campus offices and academic departments.
Objective 1.2: Collaborate with library administration to establish manageable and sustainable funding options on behalf of the archives while also working with the Office of Sponsored Research to investigate external funding sources to support archival needs.
Objective 1.3: Review, revise, and/or implement archival policies to ensure their compliance with broader IU policies and procedures and archival theory, relating to records management, data management, FERPA, ADA, transfers of ownership, collections management, and emergency preparedness.
Objective 1.4: Establish a framework for diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice by addressing collection development, decolonizing language, representation, community archiving, professional development, land acknowledgment, programming, and or other central concerns relevant to the archival profession by also collaborating with the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Multicultural Affairs and the Anderson Library faculty and staff. This framework may exist more broadly within the library, but address archive-specific initiatives.
Objective 1.5: Become compliant with IU branding and establish a unified archival identity that addresses both the Calumet Regional Archive collections and University Records to develop equal representation and maintain proper records management.
Goal one addresses key internal areas of the archives to assist with functionality and identity. The objectives will help define the archives moving forward in terms of branding, policies, compliance, funding, and DEIJ. This incorporates goal five of IUN’s strategic plan of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, while also working toward IUN’s core values of Student Success, Integrity, and DEI.
