Archives and Special Collections

Contact the Archives Today!

The Archives are free and open to the public. We can assist with academic, local, or family-based research. Scheduling an appointment is highly encouraged as they offer a more in-depth research experience. Appointments are generally arranged between 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM (Monday - Friday). The archives are located on the 3rd floor of the John W. Anderson Library. Visitors may park in the designated visitor spaces located at the north end of campus. For long-term / repeat researchers, temporary parking passes may be available (contact the archives). See the Campus Parking Map for additional guidance. 

Reading Room and Resources

History and Collections

The Archives Reading Room is historically referred to as the "Madden Room" after the Honorable Ray J. Madden (IN-1st District). Most of the furnishings seen in the photograph were donated by Rep. Madden and were originally in his congressional office. 

The space houses the archival reference collection with includes publications on the Calumet region, city directories, telephone books, various indexes, and government books from Lake and Porter Counties (such as the Lake County Marriage applications). 

What to expect

• Visitors will conduct research appointments in the archives reading room. Materials will be brought to the researchers, and re-shelved by the archives staff. Materials do not circulate.
• Visitors will be asked to sign in. 
• Please have clean hands and use gloves (provided by the archives) when handling photographs.
• Please use pencils instead of pens. Outside devices (such as tablets and laptops) are permitted, the campus has guest Wi-Fi.
• If you wish to have something duplicated please inform the archives staff.
• No food or beverages are allowed in the reading room. But, the archives do have a small break area with a mini fridge if you need to bring a light lunch or beverage. 

Equipment

• Community patrons have access to a desktop Dell computer in the room. Indiana residents may obtain a library card at the circulation desk on the first floor, and login into the computer using their card.
• There is an Epson Expression XL12000 Scanner. It can scan in multiple formats and has a bed size of 12 x 17. 
• A Xerox copy machine is available in the archives available for physical copies. 

Duplication and Fees

• If you need something duplicated please inform the archives staff.
• All duplications are subject to the copyright law of the United States. Visitors assume responsibility for materials, including infringement of copyright. 
• The archives do not charge a fee for duplication. However, visitors may donate to the archives online. Limitations may occur regarding large labor-intensive scanning projects. Please consult with the archives for more details.
• If duplicated photographs are intended for official publication (media use, documentaries, social media, journals, books, etc..) Please consult the form CRA Photograph Request Form below.