This project was made possible through the collaboration and support of the Archives, Anderson Library, Office of Diversity, Equity, and Multicultural Affairs (ODEMA), the Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning (CISTL), The Office of Marketing and Communications, Student Government Association, Student Affairs, student volunteers, and IUN faculty such as HelenMarie Harmon, Director of Career Development, School of Business and Economics.
Share Your Story
The campus is invited to share their stories (and artifacts) by participating in video-recorded oral history interviews. “I AM IUN” aims to create an empowering space for campus members to share diverse life stories that contribute to a greater sense of belonging, while also preserving our collective campus history.
All are welcome to share; students, faculty, staff, and alumni. Your stories will be preserved and shared by your IUN Archives. Our stories, identities, memories, family histories, and experiences help shape who we are as a community. Sharing may include a specific memory of campus or discussing your family history.
Schedule an Interview:
Email Jeremy Pekarek to schedule an interview. The interviews will occur on the 3rd floor of the library in the archives. Interviews will likely occur during normal business hours (9:00 AM - 4:00 PM) on weekdays.
Overview and Purpose
The purpose of this oral history experience is to create a positive, welcoming environment that promotes a sense of belonging and inclusivity, by inviting interviewees to share their own stories. Storytelling will help preserve the collective history of our campus. There is a historical/archival benefit to this endeavor where future generations, researchers, and family members can benefit from our history today. But this project is much more than an opportunity to preserve history.
Sharing is an empowering opportunity for all as it may increase feelings of personal well-being, strengthen relationships, foster growth, embrace diversity, and improve memory. As participants reflect, they may develop shared experiences among campus members, establishing a greater sense of belonging, empathy, and respect for one another. We learn from each other, by listening to each other. This project uses video instead of audio equipment because we want to see and hear our participants. We all have a story to share, we all have value.
This project is preserved on behalf of the IU Northwest Archives & Special Collections. As we develop a more unified campus archive, these stories will be digitally shared as part of that experience. In 2024, the archives sought to record these stories and in spring 2025, the stories will be realized for the entire calendar year using IU Media Collections Online.
This project seeks to foster new relationships, develop a greater sense of belonging, and preserve our history today. We all have value, and we all have a story. By contributing, one may walk away proudly saying, “I AM IUN.”
Goals
