Indiana University Northwest Archives
The Indiana University Northwest Archives & Special Collections include a rich and meaningful history worthy of historical preservation, interpretation, and access. The archives include two main collecting bodies with over two miles of linear feet. The Calumet Regional Archives (regional history) and University Records (campus history). The archives serve as a unique community resource documenting and preserving the history of IU Northwest, the City of Gary, and the Calumet region.
The Calumet Regional Archives (CRA) collects and preserves records relating to the Calumet region of Indiana including Lake and Porter Counties and includes over 500 collections housed in the John W. Anderson Library. The CRA is the largest community-focused archive within Indiana University.
University Records consist of materials created, received, or maintained by Indiana University and act as a campus archive. These records document the history of IU Northwest, including materials related to faculty, staff, students, and alumni. These collections are housed in the John W. Anderson Library.
The Archives are free and open to the public. We can provide assistance with academic or family-based research. Appointments are highly encouraged as they offer a more in-depth research experience.
Please consider giving to the archives. Your generosity will help fund special projects, preservation needs, exhibits, and events that benefit both IU Northwest and the community.
