This database features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK.
All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737, are presented in digitized format here. The collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into seventeenth and eighteenth century England.
Digitized documents such as books, pamphlets and essays from the 18th century with significant coverage of the American Revolution, French Revolution and Industrial Revolution.
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles.
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a collection covering content from the 19th century. Primary sources cover industrialization, political change, colonialism, developing education, etc.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Victorian age through an online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers.
The 20th Century American Poetry collection brings together 50,000 poems by over 300 poets. Major figures are represented alongside historically important writers and younger emergent poets when available.
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains over 2,059 plays together with detailed, fielded information on theaters, production companies, and more, and includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera.
Resource Availability Codes
- Freely available - Only available on IUN campus - Available on or off campus, only to IUN students, faculty and staff - New Resource - click icon to see all new resources - E-Book Resource - click icon to see available E-Book databases - Streaming Video Resource - click icon to see available streaming video databases
- Freely available
- Only available on IUN campus
- Available on or off campus, only to IUN students, faculty and staff
- New Resource - click icon to see all new resources
- E-Book Resource - click icon to see available E-Book databases
- Streaming Video Resource - click icon to see available streaming video databases
