LibGuides: Databases A-Z: S

S

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE is a journal publisher with journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Sanborn Maps (Illinois & Indiana) This link opens in a new window
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides academic and public libraries digital access to large-scale maps of American towns and cities, originally created for fire insurance needs.
ScienceDirect Physical Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
ScienceDirect Social & Behavioral Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
Science Reference Center eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This ebook reference collection offers a selection of eBook titles covering Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM).
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
First-time users need to create a User ID using your IUN e-mail address. SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows users to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a major abstract and citation database for peer-reviewed academic journal articles.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period This link opens in a new window
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period is a collection of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, including extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays.
Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window
The Shakespeare Collection brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare, the world's most recognized scholarly edition.
Short Story Index This link opens in a new window
This product’s aim is to index all the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year. All literary genres are covered.
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Sixties: A journal of history, politics and culture This link opens in a new window
The Sixties is an academic journal featuring cross-disciplinary scholarship from academics and public figures. It includes essays, book reviews, conversations, interviews, graphics, and analyses of the ways the decade continues to be constructed in contemporary popular culture. Access from 2012 - 2019.
Skillport BusinessPro Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Former name:: Books24x7 BusinessPro Collection. Skillport BusinessPro Collection provides online access to books focused on business. It includes topics such as career advancement, project management, customer relationship management and many other topics.
Skillport Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillport Engineering Collection provides online access to books focused on engineering. It includes topics such as aerospace, chemical engineering, mathematics, physics, sustainability and many other topics.
Skillport Government Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillport Government Collection provides online access to books focused on government. It includes topics such as acquisition and contracting, foundations of government, homeland defense, human resource management, and many other topics.
Skillport IT Pro Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Former name: Books24x7 IT Pro Collection. Searchable library of digital books and online reference books focused on information technology and other computer and software based subjects.
Skillport Well-Being Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillport BusinessPro Collection provides online access to books focused on well-being. It includes topics such as family and caregiving, health and wellness, nutrition and weight loss, and many other topics.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Part I This link opens in a new window
The Slavery and Anti-Slavery database includes books, articles, court records, etc about the transatlantic slave trade, abolition movements, legal and economic aspects, etc from the 16th through the 19th centuries.
Smithsonian Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Collections Online provides digitized magazines and documents pertaining to the exhibits and collections held by the Smithsonian Institution.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Social Sciences ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use "Download PDF" to read. Collection of e-books from Brill covering social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access and indexing for over 625 social science periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Social Theory This link opens in a new window
Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts provides citations and abstracts for social work and human services, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
It includes 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965, and is produced by the National Association of Social Workers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines, including for journal articles, book reviews, conference papers, etc. These articles can then be found with 360 Link or requested through ILLiad.
Something About The Author Online This link opens in a new window
Something About The Author Online provides illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators.
South and Southeast Asian Literature This link opens in a new window
South and Southeast Asian Literature is a collection of fiction and poetry written by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas, focused on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras.
Spanish Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This site offers resources in Spanish for all ages in two unique interfaces, each with its own comprehensive encyclopedia: Enciclopedia Moderna (Enciclopedia universal en Espanol) for high school ages and up and Britannica Escolar Online for ages 6-12.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
This database provides specialized, editorially curated A&I resources for researchers with an academic, professional or personal interest in the field of physical education. Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
State Papers Online This link opens in a new window
State Papers Online, 1509 -1714, offers a digital manuscript archive covering two hundred years of British and European history. The collection especially aids study of the Tudor and Stuart governments.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Statistical Universe. ProQuest Statistical Insight provides federal and international statistical publications, state government and business statistical reports, statistical tables, and statistical data sets.
Sunday Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Sunday Times Historical Archive is a database of one of the major British national Sunday newspapers.

Resource Availability Codes

- Freely available
- Only available on IUN campus
- Available on or off campus, only to IUN students, faculty and staff
- New Resource - click icon to see all new resources
- E-Book Resource - click icon to see available E-Book databases
- Streaming Video Resource - click icon to see available streaming video databases

Library Links

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by Indiana University.
WorldCAT This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held worldwide.
Databases A-Z This link opens in a new window
Alphabetical list of IU Northwest online resources.
Databases by Subject This link opens in a new window
IU Northwest online resources ordered by subject area.
ILLiad This link opens in a new window
Request library materials through interlibrary loan.
Ask A Librarian This link opens in a new window
Contact a librarian for research help.