LibGuides: Databases A-Z: Free 4 All

Library Links

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by Indiana University.
WorldCAT This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held worldwide.
Databases A-Z This link opens in a new window
Alphabetical list of IU Northwest online resources.
Databases by Subject This link opens in a new window
IU Northwest online resources ordered by subject area.
ILLiad This link opens in a new window
Request library materials through interlibrary loan.
Ask A Librarian This link opens in a new window
Contact a librarian for research help.

Availability

All resources listed in this section are freely available internet resources, and do not require Indiana University credentials for access.

Free4All

AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature This link opens in a new window
AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 119,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new window
AJOL includes information about each participating journal, including aims and scope, contact details, and general information. It also provides Tables of contents and abstracts (where available) for all articles published within these journals.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
The NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature.
AIDSinfo This link opens in a new window
Provides current federally approved treatment guidelines for HIV infection and AIDS-related illnesses.
Algernon Charles Swinburne Archive This link opens in a new window
The Swinburne Project is a digital collection and scholarly project devoted to the life and work of Victorian poet Algernon Charles Swinburne and to digital encounters with Swinburne's works and related documents and information resources.
All Our Worlds: A Database of Diverse Fantastic Fiction This link opens in a new window
All Our Worlds is a database focused on helping people find science fiction and fantasy books that contain diversity content. It provides summaries, tags, date and audience.
American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955 This link opens in a new window
This free research database indexes dissertations accepted by American universities between 1933 and 1955.
American Factfinder This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. Census Bureau, American Factfinder provides census and survey data on population, housing, economic, and geographic information.
American Indian Film Gallery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The American Indian Film Gallery (AIFG) is an online collection of more than 450 historic films by and about Native peoples of the Americas, compiled and digitized by historian J. Fred MacDonald over many years. These films range in date from 1925-2010.
American Memory (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Library's collection of images, digital manuscripts, and other documents from American history.
Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America This link opens in a new window
The Archives Directory for the History of Collecting is a resource created to help researchers locate primary source material about American art collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records.
arXiv.org e-Print archive This link opens in a new window
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) Journals This link opens in a new window
The Australasian Legal Scholarship Library provides search functions for these academic law journals from Australia and New Zealand.
Bab.la Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Bab.la offers 40 dictionaries for 28 languages, along with other functions such as phrase books and quizzes. Users may suggest words and translations to expand and improve bab.la's content.
BBC Foreign Languages Resources This link opens in a new window
Free online language learning: courses, audio, video and games, including the alphabet, phrases, vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, activities and tests.
Berry College Eagle Cam This link opens in a new window
Live streaming web cams of a bald eagle nest on the campus of Berry College.
BibleGateway.com This link opens in a new window
BibleGateway offers a searchable and browsable database of the Bible across many versions and languages.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Searchable bibliography of European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
Bigfuture This link opens in a new window
Advice on choosing a career along with job profiles and industry forecasts.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Freely accessible e-books on biodiversity, as provided natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions.
Bioline International This link opens in a new window
Bioline International provides open access to peer reviewed bioscience journals published in developing countries, with research on public health, international development, tropical medicine, food and nutritional security, and biodiversity.
British Architectural Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
The online catalog of materials held by the British Architectural Library, provided by the Royal Institute of British Architects. RIBA offers services to order copies of material found with their library.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
Digital library of primary and secondary sources for British history (medieval through modern).
Buddhist Studies Authority Database Project This link opens in a new window
These databases are intended for the disambiguation of Chinese Buddhist place names, people, and dates. Primarily in Chinese, but with some navigation tools in English.
Bureau of Justice Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Bureau of Justice collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Bureau of Labor Statistics collects, analyzes, and disseminates essential economic information on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholars and politicians give lectures, reports, speeches and remarks regarding politics and the government throughout American history and up to the current year.
Canadian Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of books scanned by Canadian libraries, available to read online..
CareerOneStop This link opens in a new window
Extensive library of online career resources, including wage and employment trends, market conditions by state, and employer contacts.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library of the Caribbean provides online access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) This link opens in a new window
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
census.gov This link opens in a new window
CERN document server This link opens in a new window
A source for particle physics and related areas, this site includes the bibliographic records and full-text of preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more. CERN is the European Organization for Nuclear Research and the world's largest particle physics center.
Charles W. Cushman Photograph Collection This link opens in a new window
The photographs in this collection bridge a thirty-two year span from 1938 to 1969, during which time amateur photographer Charles W. Cushman extensively documented the United States as well as other countries.
Children's Books On-line: Rosetta Project This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of online accessible illustrated antique children's books, searchable and further indexed by age and interest reading levels.
Children's Library from the Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of children's books available for reading online, made available by Internet Archive.
Chinese Buddhist Electronic Text Association This link opens in a new window
Collection of Chinese Buddhist texts, searchable and available for download. In Chinese.
Chinese Text Project This link opens in a new window
The Chinese Text Project is a web-based e-text system designed to present ancient Chinese texts, particularly those relating to Chinese philosophy, in a well-structured and properly cross-referenced manner.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America provides enhanced and permanent access to historically significant newspapers published in the United States between 1836 and 1922.
Chymistry of Isaac Newton This link opens in a new window
New research on Newton's chymistry with an online edition of his manuscripts (at least 131 manuscripts).
City Town Info Career Search This link opens in a new window
Detailed career profiles that individually include images, videos, general information, links to needed education, top cities for career, and career stories.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
CollegeSource Online This link opens in a new window
CollegeSource Online offers access to thousands of college catalogs.
Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) This link opens in a new window
The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) was founded in 1969 to facilitate the licensure process for candidates and eliminate the need for repetition of state board clinical examinations. The CDCA is a nonprofit, independent corporation, comprised of a consortium of 26 state and international dental boards. The CDCA administers the ADEX dental and dental hygiene examination and also develops, administers, scores, and reports the results of its own examinations.
ComPADRE This link opens in a new window
A network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education.
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Congress.gov provides federal legislative information, with several options for finding bills, resolutions, legislative histories, presidential nominations, treaties, and committee reports from 1973 to the present.
Consumer Health Information in Many Languages Resources This link opens in a new window
Provides links to useful multilingual online health resources. Organized by specific languages.
Consumer Product Information Database This link opens in a new window
This database links over 23,000 consumer brands to health effects, and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. Includes safety information.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture This link opens in a new window
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century.
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.
Cornell University Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books from the Cornell University Library, digitized and made available online.
CRS Reports - Thurgood Marshall Law Library This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Research Service, an arm of the Library of Congress, serves the legislative process by providing Congress with non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis on a variety of topics. This resource collects some of that work.
Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA) This link opens in a new window
CPANDA, the Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive, provides an interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
In addition to Chinese, Japanese, and Korean sources, the content includes Buddhism of Indiana, Central Asia, and Tibet. Coverage: A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources.
Digital Library of the Commons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library of the Commons (DLC) is a gateway to the international literature on the commons. The DLC provides free and open access to full-text articles, papers, and dissertations.
Digital Military Newspaper Library This link opens in a new window
The Digital Military Newspaper Library is a pilot project to house, organize and preserve contemporary and historic military newspapers and periodicals.
The Digital Military Newspaper Library is a pilot project to house, organize and preserve contemporary and historic military newspapers and periodicals. These newspapers represent Naval and Air Force bases from many geographical regions around the state of Florida and will include Kennedy Space Center, a submarine base at King’s Bay Georgia, the Panama Canal Zone, and two newspapers in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America aims to make finding openly available information on the internet easier to find. This includes photographs, manuscripts, books and more. Information searchable by date, place, and exhibition.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Journals provides a searchable access point for open access scientific and scholarly journals.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online This link opens in a new window
International index of dissertations about all aspects of classical, popular, and world music. Includes dissertations in progress as well as completed.
Dublin Core Metadata Initiative This link opens in a new window
The Dublin Core Metadata Initiative, or "DCMI", is an open organization supporting innovation in metadata design and best practices across the metadata ecology.
East Chicago Public Library Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by the East Chicago Public Library system.
eBook and Texts from Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This site provides ebook access in multiple formats to historical texts, research materials and more, including collections like Children’s Classics, Cookbooks and Genealogy. Includes over 5 million books from places such as the Boston Public Library and the Library of Congress.
EDGAR U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission This link opens in a new window
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopædia Britannica, published by Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia.
Encyclopedia Mythica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Mythica is an internet encyclopedia of folklore, mythology, and religion, divided into the sections of Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania.
Encyclopedia of Earth This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
Ensembl Genome Browser This link opens in a new window
The Ensembl project produces genome databases for vertebrates and other eukaryotic species, and makes this information freely available online.
ERIC (DOE) This link opens in a new window
This education database was created by the United States Department of Education. It covers over 750 periodicals and nearly a half a million documents. Fulltext documents since 1993.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Ethnologue is an encyclopedic reference work cataloging all 6,909 known living languages of the world.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 is a guide and index to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

FIT Digital Image Library This link opens in a new window
Approximately 40,000 images from the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York and 10,000 other images from other institutions are available for viewing.
Folk Song Subject & Master Index This link opens in a new window
Folk Song Subject & Master Index provides records of traditional folk songs and includes a brief synopsis of the song, notes on the history, and a sample text where possible.
Free Medical Journals This link opens in a new window
The Free Medical Journals Site was created to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet.
Frick Digital Image Archive This link opens in a new window
The Digital Image Archive allows visitors to browse and download images of 15,000 works of art captured during the Frick’s photography expeditions throughout the United States from 1922 to 1967.
Gallica Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Gallica is the digital library for the National Library of France and its partners.
Genetics Home Reference This link opens in a new window
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database This link opens in a new window
This database identifies geologic field trip guidebooks issued by societies, universities, geological surveys, etc., especially those related to North America.
Geologic Names Lexicon This link opens in a new window
GEOLEX is a search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names.
GEOnet Names Server This link opens in a new window
The database states that: "The Geographic Names Server is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign place names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references)."
Getty Research Institute This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This archive of ebooks from the Getty Research Institute focuses on the history of art, architecture, and archaeology. Its range extends from prehistory to contemporary art.
GIS Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Definitions for GIS terms related to operations such as analysis, GIS modeling and web-based GIS, cartography, and Esri software.
Global Development Finance This link opens in a new window
World Bank publication that tracks the annual movement of international capital flows to developing countries.
Global Health and Human Rights Database This link opens in a new window
A free online database of global health and human rights law.
Google Books - Getty Publication Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives
Google News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive up-to-date news coverage, aggregated from sources all over the world by Google News.
Google News Archives This link opens in a new window
The Google News Archives database contains scanned newspapers ranging from the 1800s to the 2000s.
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
Formerly FDsys - govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Great Lakes Region History - Century Past This link opens in a new window
Free online books, articles and maps for the early history of Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, Michigan and Wisconsin.
Gutenberg-e This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of books on topics in history.
Hammond Public Library Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by the Hammond Public Library.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Shared digital library created and designed by partnership of major research libraries
HighWire Press (Free Journals) This link opens in a new window
Freely accessible academic journals as provided by HighWire Press.
Holocaust Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia with extra features concerning the Holocaust and the principal figures involved
Hong Kong Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong.
Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education.
Hoosier State Chronicles This link opens in a new window
Hoosier State Chronicles provides free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers.
IARC Monographs On The Identification Of Carcinogenic Hazards To Humans This link opens in a new window
The IARC Monographs identify environmental factors that can increase the risk of human cancer. These include chemicals, complex mixtures, occupational exposures, physical agents, biological agents, and lifestyle factors.
Image Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Image Collections Online serves as a showcase for various image collections curated by the libraries, departments, and cultural institutions of Indiana University.
IN.gov This link opens in a new window
Data, departments, facts, and statistics concerning the State of Indiana.
Incunabula Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new window
International database of 15th-century European printing.
Indiana Attorney General Opinions This link opens in a new window
This collection includes volumes of the Indiana Attorney General Opinions from 1933-1976 and will eventually include back to 1921.
Indiana Business Research Center This link opens in a new window
Provided by the IU Kelley School of Business, the Indiana Business Research Center is an extensive resource for data and analysis of economic and demographic information needed by business, government and nonprofit organizations in Indiana and throughout the nation.
IndianaCAREERconnect.com This link opens in a new window
IndianaCareerConnect.com provides a gateway for Indiana job openings as well as help in aligning skills to available jobs.
Indiana Department of Education This link opens in a new window
The Indiana Department of Education provides resources to support the improvement of Indiana schools and their students.
Indiana Judicial Branch: Self-Service Legal Center This link opens in a new window
The Self-Service Legal Center provides valuable information, court forms, and various resources for people who represent themselves in court.
Indiana Magazine of History This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, research notes, annotated primary documents, reviews, and critical essays that contribute to public and scholarly understanding of midwestern and Indiana history.
IndianaMAP This link opens in a new window
This interactive digital atlas can be used to create custom maps about Indiana, including mineral resources, the environment, geology, biology, hydrology, transportation, demographics and population.
Indiana Memory This link opens in a new window
Digital collections of Indiana's cultural heritage from libraries, historical societies, museums and archives are found at this web site.
Indiana University Fact Book This link opens in a new window
Facts and figures concerning Indiana University activity and demographics.
Indiana University Mathematics Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text access only available for 1952 - 1994.
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana This link opens in a new window
Sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society.
Inland Steel Company Image Collection This link opens in a new window
Browse and search images throughout the history of the Inland Steel Company, which established its manufacturing in East Chicago in 1901.
Inspire Databases This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases covering many disciplines.
International Children's Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ICDL collection includes 4365 books in 54 languages.
International Plant Names Index This link opens in a new window
Database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants, ferns and fern allies.
Internet Archive Software Colllection This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive Software Collection provides vintage and historical software, including access to programs and video games, images, documentation such as instruction manuals, and multimedia.
IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by Indiana University.
Japanese Historical Texts Initiative This link opens in a new window
Collection of Japanese texts and their English translations, from the University of California at Berkeley. Some texts (from the National Institute of Japanese Librtature) require a login and password, which can be obtained from the JHTI.
Jerry Slocum Mechanical Puzzle Collection This link opens in a new window
The Jerry Slocum Mechanical Puzzle Collection showcases photographs and information of mechanical puzzles, which are hand-held objects that must be manipulated to achieve a specific goal.
Jewish Encyclopedia (1906) This link opens in a new window
This online database gives searching and browsing access to the full, unedited 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia published between 1901 and 1906.

Kids Count Data Center This link opens in a new window
Access hundreds of measures of child well-being, including all those regularly used in The Annie E. Casey Foundation's popular Data Book and The Right Start of America's Newborns, and local data from 53 grantees.
Kids Health This link opens in a new window
As part of The Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media, KidsHealth provides families with perspective, advice, and comfort about a wide range of physical, emotional, and behavioral issues that affect children and teens.
Lab Tests Online This link opens in a new window
Lab Tests Online is an award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care. The site is produced by AACC, a not-for-profit organization; proceeds from health-related advertising help support the website's mission.
Lake County Public Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by the Lake County Public Library system.
Learn More Indiana This link opens in a new window
Led by the Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Learn More Indiana provides tools and information to help Hoosiers pursue higher education.
LEO English/German Dictionary This link opens in a new window
An online dictionary for terminology and translation, which includes utilities to translate English and other languages into German.
Lewis and Short Latin Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Lewis and Short Latin Dictionary is a dictionary consisting of Latin words from the Classical period up through the late medieval period.
Lost Friends Exhibition - The Historic New Orleans Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text scanned articles of advertisements where individuals sought help finding loved ones lost in slavery. These advertisements ran in the Southwestern Christian Advocate in 1879 and 1880.
Making of America Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site contains approximately 10,000 books.
Making of America Journals (Cornell) This link opens in a new window
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site provides 267 books and over 100,000 journal articles.
Making of America Journals (Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site contains approximately 8,500 books.
ManyBooks.net This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of free ebooks, pre-formatted for reading on your computer, smartphone, iPod, or e-reading device.
Media Collections Online - Indiana University Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Media Collections Online houses audio and video collections hosted by Indiana University libraries. The collection has a variety of access restrictions - some videos are public, some require IU or other credentials.
Medieval Sourcebook This link opens in a new window
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook or IMS is a web site with modern, medieval and ancient primary source documents, maps, secondary sources, bibliographies, images and music.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other health-related organizations to provide consumer health information.
Merck Manual - Professional Version This link opens in a new window
The Merck Manual is a complete medical reference books for doctors, medical students and health care professionals. It addresses the mechanism and cause, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of over 2000 diseases and disorders. This is the 18th edition, one edition behind the current edition.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Free online dictionary of English language information as provided by Merriam-Webster, which has published dictionaries for over 150 years.
The Met Collection This link opens in a new window
This online database from the Metropolitan Museum of Art provides online access to photographs and information on hundreds of thousands of items in its collection. Around half of the images in this collection have been made available by The Met for public domain.
MetPublications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books as published by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, from 1964 to present.
Missouri Botanical Garden Botanicus Collection This link opens in a new window
Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
NASA Software Catalog This link opens in a new window
The NASA Software Catalog offers an extensive portfolio of software available at different levels of open access. This software is relevant to NASA programs and includes subjects such as environmental science, aeronautics, data and image processing, and more.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) This link opens in a new window
View digital images of selected pieces from the collection. Contains pages on how to search the collection, what is available online, and how to request information from war records to Watergate.
National Center for Educational Statistics This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
National Centers for Environmental Information This link opens in a new window
National Centers for Environmental Information is the world's largest active archive of weather data.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
National Geologic Map Database This link opens in a new window
The National Geologic Map Database contains information about geology-related printed maps and GIS data produced by Federal and state agencies.
National Vital Statistics System This link opens in a new window
Federal web site providing access to statistical information related to vital events: births, deaths, marriages, divorces and related public health materials.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Biotechnology Information provides free access of books and other non-articles about life sciences and healthcare through the NCBI Bookshelf.
Neuroscience Information Network This link opens in a new window
The Neuroscience Information Framework is a dynamic inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources: data, materials, and tools accessible via any computer connected to the Internet.
New Advent Catholic Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The Catholic Encyclopedia attempts to provide information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.
NewspaperCAT This link opens in a new window
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
NIHSeniorHealth This link opens in a new window
Health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.
NIST Physical Reference Data This link opens in a new window
National standards of length, mass, force and shock, acceleration, time and frequency, electricity, temperature, humidity, pressure and vacuum, liquid and gas flow, and electromagnetic, optical, microwave, acoustic, ultrasonic, and ionizing radiation.
NSA Primary Sources - Electronic Frontier Foundation This link opens in a new window
A catalog provided by the Electronic Frontier Foundation presenting documents from the National Security Administration, as leaked to major news outlets and released by the U.S. government.
NUMDAM This link opens in a new window
The NUMDAM web site (Numérisation de documents anciens mathématiques) offers open access to the metadata and articles published in mathematical journals.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a source of career information, designed to provide assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.
Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for library and information science, containing terms and definitions relevant to the discipline.
Online Etymology Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Online Etymology Dictionary is a free online dictionary that describes the origins of English-language words.
Open Access Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Open Access Digital Library provides free access to over 12,000 full text, scholarly journals in a variety of subjects.
Open Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open Culture is a listing and gateway to free cultural and educational media, including audio books, online courses, movies, language learning, and eBooks.
Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open Knowledge Repository provides content published by The World Bank, including books, policy research, economic and sector work studies, world development reports and more.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources provided by the Library of Congress, including digitized sheet music, scripts, photographs and more.
PERSEE - Portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales This link opens in a new window
Persée is a program which was created for the digital publication of scientific journals in the field of the humanities. The journals are selected by an editorial board, thereby guaranteeing the collection’s scientific coherence.
PILOTS This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Polonsky Foundation Digitization Project This link opens in a new window
A digital project providing online access to ancient, largely religious texts from the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana (Vatican library).
A digital project providing online access to ancient, largely religious texts from the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana (Vatican library).

Focuses on Hebrew manuscripts, Greek manuscripts, and incunabula (15th-century printed books).
Population Index on the Web This link opens in a new window
Web access to Population Index, reference source offering citations and links to demographic and population literature.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg offers free copyright-free ebooks for kindle, android, nook, epub or to read online.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized in three databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) This link opens in a new window
PLOS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals. The journals vary in their selectivity and contain differing amounts of commentary articles from opinion leaders in a variety of scientific disciplines. The journals are editorially independent.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a free digital database of full-text scientific literature in biomedical and life sciences.
Purdue Northwest Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by Purdue University Northwest.
Purdue Online Writing Lab This link opens in a new window
Offers over 200 resources for writing - job search writing, citation styles such as MLA and APA, etc.
Radio Garden This link opens in a new window
Radio Garden allows for listening to thousands of live radio stations across the globe.
The site offers many features including a geographic interface and a search function. Mobile app versions are available as well.
Radio Shack Catalogs This link opens in a new window
Radio Shack Catalogs is dedicated to archiving old catalogs and videos of the chain retail store. Content ranges from as far back as 1939 to as recent as 2011.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Index of Jewish Studies articles from the Jewish National and University Library. Includes some full text articles.
REDALyC This link opens in a new window
Redalyc is an information system of the leading journals of all knowledge edited in or about Ibero-America.
Represent Me This link opens in a new window
This database gathers and describes cases of queer representation within video games.
Current ways to search include by keyword, representation type, and representation location (protagonist, NPCs, other).
Researching Brazil This link opens in a new window
Listing of Brazil academic journals. Some full-text journals available.
Rosa Parks Papers This link opens in a new window
The papers of Rosa Parks (1913-2005) span the years 1866-2006, with the bulk of the material dating from 1955 to 2000. The collection documents many aspects of Parks' private life and public activism on behalf of civil rights for African Americans.
SARIT: Search and Retrieval of Indic Texts This link opens in a new window
Online Sanskrit texts, searchable by title, author, or phrase. Texts also available for download.
Search Hillary Clinton's Emails This link opens in a new window
Hillary Clinton's Emails during her tenure as Secretary of State, as released by the State Department.
September 11 Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath.
The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath. The Archive contains more than 150,000 digital items, a tally that includes more than 40,000 emails and other electronic communications, more than 40,000 first-hand stories, and more than 15,000 digital images. In September 2003, the Library of Congress accepted the Archive into its collections, an event that both ensured the Archive's long-term preservation and marked the library's first major digital acquisition.
Shapecatcher This link opens in a new window
This is a tool to help you find Unicode characters by drawing the shape of the character in a drawbox.
Sheet Music Consortium This link opens in a new window
Sheet Music Consortium is an open collection of digitized sheet music, and in many cases covers and advertisements that offer evidence of the cultural context in which the songs were published.
Sistema de Bibliotecas de la UNMSM This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of publications such as books, journals, theses and more published by the National University of San Marcos (Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos).
Smithsonian X 3D This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian X 3D provides 3D models of artifacts within their archives for viewing and, with an account, download.
Software Library: MS-DOS Games This link opens in a new window
Software for MS-DOS machines that represent entertainment and games. The collection includes action, strategy, adventure and other unique genres of game and entertainment software.
Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum This link opens in a new window
Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum section on Internet Archive offers books and catalogs to document the museum's exhibitions and collections.
SORA - Searchable Ornithological Research Archive This link opens in a new window
SORA is an open access ornithological publications archive, providing electronic access to international ornithological literature.
Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) Resources This link opens in a new window
A listing of resources produced by the Southern Poverty Law Center, a civil rights organization dedicated to fighting hate groups and bigotry.
Sports-Reference.com This link opens in a new window
A collection of websites focused on historical and current sports statistics and other information. Includes baseball, basketball and college basketball, pro and college football, hockey, and olympics.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) combines an online encyclopedia of philosophy with peer reviewed publication of original papers in philosophy.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
STATS Indiana This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on Indiana, including census and population data, economic and labor reports, and county profiles.
Studs Terkel Radio Archive This link opens in a new window
The Studs Terkel Radio Archive provides the audio of Studs' radio interviews during his career at WFMT in Chicago between 1952 and 1997. His program covered music, health care, labor studies, diversity issues including history and culture, and a wide range of additional topics.
Tang Dynasty Poetry This link opens in a new window
Complete collection of Tang dynasty poetry. Texts and navigation in Chinese--does not include translations.
Tang Dynasty Prose This link opens in a new window
Complete collection of Tang dynasty prose. Texts and navigation in Chinese--does not include translations.
Tanner Lecture Library This link opens in a new window
The Tanner Lectures are a collection of educational and scientific discussions relating to human values, conducted by leaders in their fields. Lectures provided in MP3 audio format.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A complimentrary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 200 peer-reviewed journals.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks.net is a website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. Includes author information, book guides and lesson plans, author interviews and more.
Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database This link opens in a new window
More than a half-century of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States.
Theoi Greek Mythology This link opens in a new window
Theoi provides a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
ToxMap This link opens in a new window
TOXMAP® is a Geographic Information System (GIS) from the Division of Specialized Information Services of the US National Library of Medicine® (NLM) that uses maps of the United States and Canada to help users visually explore data primarily from the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)'s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Superfund Program.
TOXNET This link opens in a new window
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Udemy This link opens in a new window
Udemy provides online courses on various subjects such as IT & Software, Academics, Language, Teacher Training and more. Free and paid courses available, requires Udemy account.
Unconsenting Media This link opens in a new window
Unconsenting Media is a database providing information on sexual violence in TV shows, films, and books.
The site content can be further browsed by genre, type, and ratings, and it accepts submissions for review.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community that brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point.
Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
United States Code This link opens in a new window
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
United States Government Manual (Database) This link opens in a new window
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. It covers the activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. This version provides a means to run a keyword search of the manual.
The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
United States Government Manual (e-Pub) This link opens in a new window
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. It covers the activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. These versions are electronic publications that can be read as PDFs, broken down by year.
The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Universal Library Project was a project to provide a large number of books for free online access. It was created with support from the governments of India, China, and Egypt. A great majority of titles are in Chinese.
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
The official site for the United States government, this site provides government information and services online.
USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new window
USGS (United States Geological Survey) Publications Warehouse is a database with records that link to publications written by USGS authors.
VADS: Visual Arts Data Service This link opens in a new window
An online collection of more than 120,000 images of rare and unique library, museum, and archives collections across the United Kingdom.
Valparaiso University Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by Valparaiso University.
Victorian Women Writers Project This link opens in a new window
Provides highly accurate transcriptions of literary works by British women writers of the late 19th century.
WDI Online This link opens in a new window
Statistical database featuring economic, social, environmental data since 1960 for countries of the world.
Wikipedia This link opens in a new window
Window Swap This link opens in a new window
Window Swap allows for viewing random webcams placed at windows from all over the world.
Location of the webcam can be seen on upper right.
Work + Learn Indiana This link opens in a new window
Work and Learn Indiana is a program that links employers, learners, high schools, colleges and universities. It is a dynamic, searchable database, matching and reporting system that also provides resources and guidance on work-based learning opportunities.
The World Factbook - CIA This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information about countries and non-self-governing territories around the world.
World Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law.
World of Statistics This link opens in a new window
Wright American Fiction (1851-1875) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.
Yiddish Prints This link opens in a new window
About 800 valuable Yiddish books, printed in Hebrew letters, from the Frankfurt University Library.
ZipRecruiter This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international job search site
ZipRecruiter - Salary This link opens in a new window
Get salary estimates from Zip Recruiter