Databases by Subject: Video

Black Studies in Video features documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

Includes commercials, documentaries, cookbooks, menus, posters, and many other sources.

Content highlights from the collection include science, music/art, literature/drama, history, and current events.

Rehabilitation Therapy in Video provides videos on the study of occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, and speech-language pathology. The collection includes footage of top clinicians and academics explaining the underlying anatomical and neurological issues in specific patient populations, while demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment. All of the video has been thoroughly indexed to allow users to search and filter content by patient details, therapist specialization, treatment method, presenting problem, and more.

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966 captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films provide a unique—and until now largely neglected—resource that will give scholars real insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.