LibGuides: IUN Virtual Library for Faculty: E-Books

Resources

Top Resources
All Resources

These resources are a starting point for research. Depending on your topic, other resources in the All Resources tab may be more helpful. If you need help, please Ask a Librarian.

EBook Central
EBook Central provides online access to a wide range of scholarly ebooks.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Collection of eBooks viewable online through EBSCOhost.
Gale eBooks
Formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library. Virtual Reference Library electronically provides complete encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more in many areas of study.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
New name: Gale eBooks. Virtual Reference Library electronically provides complete encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more in many areas of study. Categories include arts, biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.

Virtual Reference Library electronically provides complete encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more in many areas of study.
Oxford Scholarship
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides online access to books published by Oxford University Press. It spans 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law.

18th Century Fiction
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles.

A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.
Asian Studies ebook Collection
An ebook collection of materials about Asian studies.
BibleGateway.com
BibleGateway offers a searchable and browsable database of the Bible across many versions and languages.
Bible in English
The Bible in English contains twenty versions of the Bible. In addition to the twelve complete Bibles, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations.
Biblical Studies ebook Collection
An ebook collection of materials about the Bible, ancient near East, and early Christianity.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Freely accessible e-books on biodiversity, as provided natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions.
Brill E-Books
Canadian Libraries
Collection of books scanned by Canadian libraries, available to read online..
Children's Books On-line: Rosetta Project
A collection of online accessible illustrated antique children's books, searchable and further indexed by age and interest reading levels.
Children's Library from the Internet Archive
Collection of children's books available for reading online, made available by Internet Archive.
Classical Studies ebook Collection
An ebook collection of materials about classical studies.
Cornell University Library
Books from the Cornell University Library, digitized and made available online.
Credo Academic Core
Formerly Credo General Reference. Credo Reference is an online,cross searchable, full text suite of of encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, companions, atlases, chronologies, Who's whos, and other reference resources.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
Searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
eBook and Texts from Internet Archive
This site provides ebook access in multiple formats to historical texts, research materials and more, including collections like Children’s Classics, Cookbooks and Genealogy. Includes over 5 million books from places such as the Boston Public Library and the Library of Congress.
EBook Central
EBook Central provides online access to a wide range of scholarly ebooks.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Collection of eBooks viewable online through EBSCOhost.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare, covering William Shakespeare's work, contains eleven major editions, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, and more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
The Encyclopedia of Social Work contains four hundred social work subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work.
Food Studies Online
Food Studies Online offers books, videos, ephemera such as brochures and more which cover the history, business, social and environmental impact, and other aspects of food.

Includes commercials, documentaries, cookbooks, menus, posters, and many other sources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
New name: Gale eBooks. Virtual Reference Library electronically provides complete encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more in many areas of study. Categories include arts, biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.

Virtual Reference Library electronically provides complete encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more in many areas of study.
Getty Research Institute
This archive of ebooks from the Getty Research Institute focuses on the history of art, architecture, and archaeology. Its range extends from prehistory to contemporary art.
Gutenberg-e
Full text of books on topics in history.
Handbook of Psychology
This handbook covers discoveries based in neuroscience, evidence-based practice and mindfulness, as well as new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Shared digital library created and designed by partnership of major research libraries
International Children's Digital Library
The ICDL collection includes 4365 books in 54 languages.
Language and Linguistics eBook Collection
Loeb Classical Library
This database of Greek and Latin literature presents the original Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations. Includes literature and the history of many other disciplines.
ManyBooks.net
Thousands of free ebooks, pre-formatted for reading on your computer, smartphone, iPod, or e-reading device.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection
This ebook reference collection offers a selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
MetPublications
E-books as published by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, from 1964 to present.
Middle East and Islamic Studies ebook Collection
Middle Search Reference eBook Collection
This ebook reference collection offers a selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for middle school students. Topics include social studies, math, history, language arts, technology, geography, culture, and science.
Open Culture
Open Culture is a listing and gateway to free cultural and educational media, including audio books, online courses, movies, language learning, and eBooks.
Open Knowledge Repository
Open Knowledge Repository provides content published by The World Bank, including books, policy research, economic and sector work studies, world development reports and more.
Primary Search Reference eBook Collection
This ebook reference collection offers a selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for primary school students. Topics include social studies, history, language arts, geography, culture, math, and science.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog
Project Gutenberg offers free copyright-free ebooks for kindle, android, nook, epub or to read online.
Religious Studies eBook Collection
Use "Download PDF" to read. Collection of e-books from Brill covering religious studies.
Skillport BusinessPro Collection
Former name:: Books24x7 BusinessPro Collection. Skillport BusinessPro Collection provides online access to books focused on business. It includes topics such as career advancement, project management, customer relationship management and many other topics.
Skillport Engineering Collection
Skillport Engineering Collection provides online access to books focused on engineering. It includes topics such as aerospace, chemical engineering, mathematics, physics, sustainability and many other topics.
Skillport Government Collection
Skillport Government Collection provides online access to books focused on government. It includes topics such as acquisition and contracting, foundations of government, homeland defense, human resource management, and many other topics.
Skillport IT Pro Collection
Former name: Books24x7 IT Pro Collection. Searchable library of digital books and online reference books focused on information technology and other computer and software based subjects.
Skillport Well-Being Collection
Skillport BusinessPro Collection provides online access to books focused on well-being. It includes topics such as family and caregiving, health and wellness, nutrition and weight loss, and many other topics.
Social Sciences ebook Collection
Use "Download PDF" to read. Collection of e-books from Brill covering social sciences.
Universal Library
The Universal Library Project was a project to provide a large number of books for free online access. It was created with support from the governments of India, China, and Egypt. A great majority of titles are in Chinese.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources, including e-books and journals, covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Full text available for IU Northwest subscriptions.
Wright American Fiction (1851-1875)
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.