LibGuides: IUN Virtual Library for Faculty: Free Resources During/About COVID-19

Resource Availability Codes

- Freely available
- Only available on IUN campus
- Available on or off campus, only to IUN students, faculty and staff
- New Resource - click icon to see all new resources
- E-Book Resource - click icon to see available E-Book databases
- Streaming Video Resource - click icon to see available streaming video databases

Free Resources During/About COVID-19

Several database, ebook, journal and video vendors have offered free resources, or temporary free access to resources, during the COVID-19 pandemic. The resources on this page include newly created services specific to Coronavirus as well as existing collections made more widely available.

Be aware that some resources will require an IU Northwest login, and some resources are only available for a limited time.

EBSCO COVID-19 Global News, Maps and Updates
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's COVID-19 Information Portal has been created to support the immediate need for trusted information. It is comprised of news feeds and resources from trusted bodies of authority and the index is in its infancy.
Indiana COVID-19 Data Report
- This link opens in a new window
COVID-19 data report for Indiana that includes county distributions, demographics, ventilator and ICU bed usage, and more.
LexisNexis COVID-19 News Tracker
- This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis' free tracker provides charts and top stories concerning COVID-19.
Scitrus - COVID-19 Outbreak
- This link opens in a new window
Real time feed of latest news and research on COVID-19, powered by Scitrus, Atypon's AI-driven personalized discovery application.

Coronavirus Research Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America aims to make finding openly available information on the internet easier to find. This includes photographs, manuscripts, books and more. Information searchable by date, place, and exhibition.

Annual Reviews - Free Access (COVID-19)
- This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews has made all journal content available to all through Monday, June 15, 2020 and may extend policy after that date.

Annual Reviews is a publisher of science and social science academic journals.
Association for Computing Machinery
- This link opens in a new window
Now, through June 30, 2020, ACM is offering free access to published work, without fees.
The Booklist Reader
- This link opens in a new window
Until the foreseeable future, Booklist is offering free access to all of its online content.
Coronavirus and Epidemics Research - Emerald Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight has brought together a number of freely available research resources related to the Coronavirus group of viruses, and epidemics more broadly.

Topics include COVID-19 expert briefings, education under isolation, remote working, social consequences, and more.
COVID-19 Free Content - Taylor & Francis
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis is providing relevant COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information for free access in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research into COVID-19.
JSTOR - Free Public Health Journals
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is providing free access to select public health journals through June 30, 2020.
Springer Nature - Coronavirus
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature is providing free access to research articles, books, and commentary relevant to the Coronavirus situation.
Wiley Online Library - Novel Coronavirus Outbreak
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley is making available relevant research articles, book chapters and entries in their major references freely available, in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research in this disease and similar viral respiratory infections.

They will update the content periodically.

Cengage
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free subscription is being offered for Cengage Unlimited, until the end of the term.

eBook and Texts from Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This site provides ebook access in multiple formats to historical texts, research materials and more, including collections like Children’s Classics, Cookbooks and Genealogy. Includes over 5 million books from places such as the Boston Public Library and the Library of Congress.

MIT Press - Free Books (COVID-19)
- This link opens in a new window
MIT Press is making a selection of titles on pandemics, epidemiology, and related topics freely available for the foreseeable future.
RedShelf
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
RedShelf is offering up to 7 free eBooks for students, with access until May 25th.

Academy of Art University
- This link opens in a new window
The Academy of Art University is offering free webinars to US college students with art and design events, online workshops, and exhibitions.

IU COVID-19 Links

Coronavirus COVID-19: Indiana University
Updates from the broader Indiana University system concerning COVID-19.
COVID-19 Vaccine - IU
IU page of latest vaccine eligibility, vaccine fact vs fiction, actions to take for IU, and related information.
Government Documents: COVID-19 Resources
Page from IUN library's Government Documents department of federal resources, webinars, and avoiding COVID scams.
Healthy IU - COVID-19 & Personal Well-Being
Support and resources for personal well-being during the COVID-19 pandemic.
IU Health - Free Coronavirus Screening
IU Health has launched a virtual clinic to offer individuals in Indiana regardless of age free coronavirus (COVID-19) screenings using the IU Health Virtual Visit app.
IUN Campus Updates
Information on what various IU Northwest departments are doing or have available during COVID.
IUN Library Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates
Latest updates for the IU Northwest library's services (and related services) surrounding COVID.
IU Northwest Student Emergency Assistance Fund
Donation page to help IUN students facing financial hardship during COVID-19.
IUN Virtual Library for Faculty LibGuide
Guide focused what faculty and by extension their students have available from the library.