Basic Rubric – These are the minimum outcomes FYS students should complete after an instruction session. Instruction takes 20 minutes to complete.
|
Learning Outcome |
Excellent |
Good |
Fair |
Poor |
|
Student navigates the library website. |
Student navigates all parts of the library website. |
Student navigates some parts of the library website. |
Student navigates 1 part of the library website. |
Student does not know where anything on the library website is. |
|
Student searches IUCAT to find resources and understands IU Libraries system. |
Student searches IUCAT to find books and ebooks using the advance search function and can use the Request This button to obtain a book from another IU library. |
Student searches IUCAT to find books and ebooks using the basic search function. |
Student searches IUCAT to find a book. |
Student does not understand or know how to use IUCAT. |
|
Student uses ILLiad to obtain resources. |
Student registers for ILLiad and uses it to obtain an electronic article not found in IUN’s library databases. |
Student registers for ILLiad and knows when to use it. |
Student registers for ILLiad. |
Student did not register for ILLiad and does not know how to use ILLiad. |
|
Student identifies basic library databases and knows where to find them on the library website. |
Student identifies and knows where to find basic library databases such as Credo, EDS, and Google Scholar and understands their functions. |
Student identifies and knows where to find basic library databases such as Credo, EDS, and Google Scholar. |
Student identifies and knows where to find at least 1 library database. |
Student does not know what a library database is. |
|
Student knows communication channels to follow up with librarians and/or to ask for help. |
Student knows how to follow up with librarians and ask for help through phone, chat, email, and text and follows on social media. |
Student knows how to follow up with librarians and ask for help through at least 1 communication channel. |
Student knows where to look for communication channels on library website. |
Student does not know how to follow up and ask for help. |
Optional Outcomes – these are bonus outcomes FYS students can obtain with a lengthier instruction session or multiple sessions with an assessment completion (such as a test or survey). A close collaboration with a librarian is recommended.
|
Learning Outcomes |
Excellent |
Good |
Fair |
Poor |
|
Student develops a research topic, topic sentence, and/or thesis statement. |
Student develops a research topic that is rich, complex, and multi-layered with ideas and directions to go. |
Student develops a solid research topic. |
Student develops a research topic. |
Student does not develop a research topic. |
|
Student generates keywords from research topic and online searching. |
Student generates keywords from research topic and keywords generate relevant results in the library databases. |
Student generates keywords from research topic and keywords generate some results in the library databases. |
Student generates a few keywords from research topic. |
Student does not generate any keywords. |
|
Student finds popular resources online and reference resources through the library. |
Student uses research topic and keywords to find sound and high-quality resources online and through the library. |
Student uses research topic and keywords to find resources online and through the library. |
Student finds resources online and through the library to support research topic. |
Student does not find resources or finds low quality resources online and/or through the library. |
|
Student incorporates resources into research project. |
Student incorporates high-quality resources into research project to support their arguments and claims. |
Student incorporates resources into research project to support their arguments and claims. |
Student incorporates required amount of resources into research project. |
Student does not incorporate any resources into research project. |
|
Student cites resources using the appropriate citation format of the instructor’s choosing. |
Student creates a bibliography and uses in-text citations to vary style within the research project. |
Student creates a bibliography and uses in-text citations within research project. |
Student creates a bibliography. |
Student does not cite any sources. |
