The boxes pertaining to the ProQuest infrastructure were written by ProQuest and are used with its permission found at proquest.libguides.com
Perform a more detailed search using the pull-down menu with supported field codes as well as the "Limit To" section to apply additional limits.
1. Advanced Search Form and Pull-down Menus
Boolean, proximity, and field codes are supported. The default is to search for ALLterms entered. Separate terms with OR to find any of the terms. To search for an exact phrase, use "quotation marks" around your search.
When running a search, the search default is set to Anywhere. Anywhere searches the full bibliographic record (all indexed fields). Other search fields can also be chosen from the pull-down menu such as abstract, author, document title, and publication title.
For a full listing, description, and examples of how to format a search using field codes indexed in Sociological Abstracts, please visit the Searchable Fields section of this guide.
2. Limit to: Peer reviewed, Scholarly journals and Latest Update
Peer reviewed, Scholarly journals and Latest Update are the first limits that appear in the Advanced Search. The visibility of these limits is determined by your ProQuest Administrator Module settings. Whether or not any of these are checked by default is also determined by your ProQuest Administrator Module settings.
Checking the Peer reviewed limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records that are indexed in peer reviewed journals. Peer reviewed journals are a subset of scholarly journals and are defined as journals that undergo a review process where other experts (peers) in the field review the work before it is published in the journal. Peer reviewed journals are also commonly known as refereed journals.
Checking the Scholarly journals limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records that are indexed in scholarly journals. Scholarly journals are journals that are intended for an academically oriented audience.
Checking the Latest Update limit will restrict to newly added records.
3. Date Range
The Date range limit defaults to search all dates. Other options include Last 7 days, Last 30 days, Last 3 months, Last 12 months, Last 3 years, On this date, After this date, Before this date, and Specific date range.
4. Database Specific Limits and Fields
The Source type limit refers to the publication type. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all source types will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the source types will then only run your search to include those source types you selected.
The Document type limit is used to refer to the format of the full-text. This includes articles, conference papers, dissertations, working papers, and many others. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all document types will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the document types will then only run your search to include those document types you selected.
The Language limit is used to restrict your search to documents published in one or more languages. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all languages will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the languages will then only run your search to include those languages you selected.
5. Display Options
The Sort results by menu controls the sort order of the records that appear in the results page. Sort by relevance, date (oldest first), or date (most recent first). Relevance is determined by an algorithm that factors in the number of times your search terms appear in the record as well where in the record your search terms appear.
Items per page is used to select how many results will display on the results page. Choose from 10, 20, 50, or 100 items.
Duplicates can appear in ProQuest if the item is indexed in more than one database or collection. The default behavior is to suppress the duplicate, however, if you would like the duplicate items to appear in the results, select to include duplicate documents.
6. Thesaurus
The Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms contains an alphabetical listing of Main Term descriptors used for indexing and searching the Sociological Abstracts database and printed index, beginning with the April 1986 issue. It also references discontinued terms from the former Descriptor Authority File, which are used for accessing information prior to 1986. Associated term relationships are displayed under each Main Term. These may include a Descriptor Code, Scope Note, History Note, Use For and Use references, Broader Terms and Narrower Terms, and Related Terms.
For additional details on how to use the thesaurus and search using the subject field, please go to the ProQuest guide, "Sociological Abstracts," by clicking Searchable Fields.
