LibGuides: Databases by Subject: Nursing and Medicine

Resource Availability Codes

- Freely available
- Only available on IUN campus
- Available on or off campus, only to IUN students, faculty and staff
- New Resource - click icon to see all new resources
- E-Book Resource - click icon to see available E-Book databases
- Streaming Video Resource - click icon to see available streaming video databases

Health and Human Services Subjects

Databases by Subject
IU Northwest online databases ordered by subject area.

Nursing and Medicine Resources

These resources are a starting point for research. Depending on your topic, other resources in the All Resources tab may be more helpful. If you need help, please Ask a Librarian.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Included databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Journals@Ovid Full Text
This database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. Contains subscriptions through the IUPUI Medical Library.
Journals@Ovid LWW Legacy Archive
This database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. Contains subscriptions through IU Northwest.
Nursing & Allied Health
Formerly CINAHL Complete. Nursing & Allied Health provides comprehensive and multi-media coverage of the fields or nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine.

Research and learning information is presented from leading scholary and trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,506 journals, including full text for 3,229 non-open access peer-reviewed titles.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Access Medicine
AccessMedicine® provides access to more than 65 medical titles in medicine, with images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic and point-of-care tools and more.

AccessMedicine® provides access to more than 65 medical titles in medicine, with images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic and point-of-care tools and more.
AccessSurgery
Access to more than 15 ebooks, including Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery and Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Surgery. AccessSurgery is an integrated online resource that includes: surgical videos, surgical animations, surgical atlas, board review, and quick reference.
AHFS Consumer Medication Information
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish.
AIDSinfo
Provides current federally approved treatment guidelines for HIV infection and AIDS-related illnesses.
Annual Review of Public Health
The Annual Review of Public Health covers significant developments in the field of Public Health, including epidemiology and biostatistics, social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice.
Bioline International
Bioline International provides open access to peer reviewed bioscience journals published in developing countries, with research on public health, international development, tropical medicine, food and nutritional security, and biodiversity.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
CAS SciFinder
First-time users need to create a User ID using your IUN e-mail address. SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows users to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
CINAHL Complete
Nursing & Allied Health replaces CINAHL Complete. Nursing & Allied Health provides comprehensive and multi-media coverage of the fields or nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine.

Research and learning information is presented from leading scholarly and trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Included databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Consumer Health Information in Many Languages Resources
Provides links to useful multilingual online health resources. Organized by specific languages.
Credo Academic Core
Formerly Credo General Reference. Credo Reference is an online,cross searchable, full text suite of of encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, companions, atlases, chronologies, Who's whos, and other reference resources.
Free Medical Journals
The Free Medical Journals Site was created to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
New name: Gale eBooks. Virtual Reference Library electronically provides complete encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more in many areas of study. Categories include arts, biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.

Virtual Reference Library electronically provides complete encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more in many areas of study.
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
Global Health and Human Rights Database
A free online database of global health and human rights law.

Hastings Center Report
The Hastings Center Report explores the ethical, legal, and social issues in medicine, health care, public health, and the life sciences.

Consumer Product Information Database
This database links over 23,000 consumer brands to health effects, and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. Includes safety information.
Health and Society in Video
Documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews on medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database provides a collection of consumer health information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

This database provides a collection of consumer health information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
IARC Monographs On The Identification Of Carcinogenic Hazards To Humans
The IARC Monographs identify environmental factors that can increase the risk of human cancer. These include chemicals, complex mixtures, occupational exposures, physical agents, biological agents, and lifestyle factors.
JamaEvidence
JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. JAMAevidence includes: Users' Guides, Calculators, Podcasts, Education Guides and Learning Tools.
Journals@Ovid Full Text
This database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. Contains subscriptions through the IUPUI Medical Library.
Journals@Ovid LWW Legacy Archive
This database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. Contains subscriptions through IU Northwest.
Kids Count Data Center
Access hundreds of measures of child well-being, including all those regularly used in The Annie E. Casey Foundation's popular Data Book and The Right Start of America's Newborns, and local data from 53 grantees.
Kids Health
As part of The Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media, KidsHealth provides families with perspective, advice, and comfort about a wide range of physical, emotional, and behavioral issues that affect children and teens.
Lab Tests Online
Lab Tests Online is an award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care. The site is produced by AACC, a not-for-profit organization; proceeds from health-related advertising help support the website's mission.
Medline Plus
Authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other health-related organizations to provide consumer health information.
Merck Manual - Professional Version
The Merck Manual is a complete medical reference books for doctors, medical students and health care professionals. It addresses the mechanism and cause, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of over 2000 diseases and disorders. This is the 18th edition, one edition behind the current edition.
NCBI Bookshelf
The National Center for Biotechnology Information provides free access of books and other non-articles about life sciences and healthcare through the NCBI Bookshelf.
Neonatal Network
Neonatal Network is a peer-reviewed journal which is dedicated to assisting neonatal nurses and related healthcare professionals to remain current in their fields.
New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine brings physicians research and key information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice, presenting information in a clinically useful format.
NIHSeniorHealth
Health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.
Ovid Medical Databases
A collection of medical databases for articles from scientific, technical, and medical journals. Provided through the IUPUI Medical Library.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that lets you create maps covering Demographics, Incomes & Spending, Housing, Lending, Quality of Life, Economy, Education, and Health.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
This database showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLOS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals. The journals vary in their selectivity and contain differing amounts of commentary articles from opinion leaders in a variety of scientific disciplines. The journals are editorially independent.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free digital database of full-text scientific literature in biomedical and life sciences.
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video provides videos on the study of occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, and speech-language pathology. The collection includes explanations of anatomical and neurological issues, while demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment.

Rehabilitation Therapy in Video provides videos on the study of occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, and speech-language pathology. The collection includes footage of top clinicians and academics explaining the underlying anatomical and neurological issues in specific patient populations, while demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment. All of the video has been thoroughly indexed to allow users to search and filter content by patient details, therapist specialization, treatment method, presenting problem, and more.
ScienceDirect Social & Behavioral Sciences College Edition
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
Skillport Well-Being Collection
Skillport BusinessPro Collection provides online access to books focused on well-being. It includes topics such as family and caregiving, health and wellness, nutrition and weight loss, and many other topics.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
Covers areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
Studs Terkel Radio Archive
The Studs Terkel Radio Archive provides the audio of Studs' radio interviews during his career at WFMT in Chicago between 1952 and 1997. His program covered music, health care, labor studies, diversity issues including history and culture, and a wide range of additional topics.
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

The library has created a special list of Reserve books for nursing that are available for IU Northwest students, faculty and staff to use within the library.

Nursing Reserve Books (IUCAT)

The library has created a special list of serials for the nursing subject. Some of these serials are available as physical copies in the library, but most are provided electronically.

Serials for Nursing

Library Links

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by Indiana University.
WorldCAT This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held worldwide.
Databases A-Z This link opens in a new window
Alphabetical list of IU Northwest online resources.
Databases by Subject This link opens in a new window
IU Northwest online resources ordered by subject area.
ILLiad This link opens in a new window
Request library materials through interlibrary loan.
Ask A Librarian This link opens in a new window
Contact a librarian for research help.