chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.



  The library has limited services and changed hours due to the Coronavirus situation. Watch our Coronavirus page for the latest information..  


American Periodicals : About

"American Periodicals includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century."

Subject Coverage

    • History
    • Literature
    • History of Science
    • History of Medicine
    • Law
    • News and Magazines
    • Politics
    • Religion
    • Education
    • Women's Studies
    • Art
    • American Studies

    Publication Types

    • Scholarly Journals
    • Trade Journals
    • Magazines
    • Newspapers
    • Reports

    What is American Periodicals?

    American Periodicals includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.  American Periodicals encompasses two separate collections, which may be acquired individually: American Periodicals Series (APS) Online and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.

    Because American Periodicals contains digitized images of periodical pages, researchers can see all of the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published.  To learn more about the separate collections available in American Periodicals, please see the American Periodicals Construction page of this guide.

    Publication Coverage

    To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: