LibGuides: Databases by Subject: Communication

Social and Behavioral Sciences Subjects

Databases by Subject
IU Northwest online resources ordered by subject area.

Related Guides

Communication Resources

Top Resources
All Resources

These resources are a starting point for research. Depending on your topic, other resources in the All Resources tab may be more helpful. If you need help, please Ask a Librarian.

Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,506 journals, including full text for 3,229 non-open access peer-reviewed titles.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Black Thought and Culture provides monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. Contains research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
CQ Researcher
The CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher has full text reports about topics that are discussed in the media. Background information, trends, and forecasts are included.
Credo Academic Core
Formerly Credo General Reference. Credo Reference is an online,cross searchable, full text suite of of encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, companions, atlases, chronologies, Who's whos, and other reference resources.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Covering many subjects, Opposing Viewpoints in Context offers research and tools including pro/con viewpoint essays, biographies, statistics, topic and court case overviews and more.
Nexis Uni
Formerly LexisNexis® Academic. Nexis Uni provides comprehensive access to credible news, business, and legal research for college students and faculty.

Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Black Thought and Culture provides monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. Contains research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
Chatham House Online Archive
Chatham House Online Archive contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), a world-leading independent international affairs policy institute.
CQ Researcher
The CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher has full text reports about topics that are discussed in the media. Background information, trends, and forecasts are included.
Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)
CPANDA, the Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive, provides an interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
The Encyclopædia Britannica, published by Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia.
Film Index International
Film Index International is an information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, with international coverage and a scholarly approach.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Covering many subjects, Opposing Viewpoints in Context offers research and tools including pro/con viewpoint essays, biographies, statistics, topic and court case overviews and more.
IngentaConnect
IngentaConnect is a resource for a great deal of academic articles through journals electronically published on its site. Full text access available for journals to which IU Northwest subscribes.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Meet the Press
Meet the Press from Alexander Street Press makes this broadcast journalism program, since its television premiere in 1947, available for viewing in streaming video format. Includes interviews, panels, and debates.
The Met Collection
This online database from the Metropolitan Museum of Art provides online access to photographs and information on hundreds of thousands of items in its collection. Around half of the images in this collection have been made available by The Met for public domain.
Opposing Viewpoints Critical Thinking
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Critical Thinking provides information on today's hottest social issues through viewpoint articles, topic overviews, magazines, academic journals, newspaper articles, statistics and more.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Critical Thinking provides information on today's hottest social issues through viewpoint articles, topic overviews, magazines, academic journals, newspaper articles, statistics and more. It offers Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.
ProQuest Databases
An inclusive, federated search engine of all ProQuest databases simultaneously, as a resource for finding academic articles.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources, including e-books and journals, covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Full text available for IU Northwest subscriptions.

Resource Availability Codes

- Freely available
- Only available on IUN campus
- Available on or off campus, only to IUN students, faculty and staff
- New Resource - click icon to see all new resources
- E-Book Resource - click icon to see available E-Book databases
- Streaming Video Resource - click icon to see available streaming video databases

Library Links

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held by Indiana University.
WorldCAT This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of library materials held worldwide.
Databases A-Z This link opens in a new window
Alphabetical list of IU Northwest online resources.
Databases by Subject This link opens in a new window
IU Northwest online resources ordered by subject area.
ILLiad This link opens in a new window
Request library materials through interlibrary loan.
Ask A Librarian This link opens in a new window
Contact a librarian for research help.