chat loading...
Skip to main content



  Due to renovation, most library books are currently unavailable. Links for these books will not show a record. Please contact a reference librarian if you need assistance.  


Renovation FAQ

This guide is intended to answer important and frequently asked questions about library renovations and their impact.

Introduction

At the end of December 2018, Facilities began renovation of the library third floor. The third floor is set to open on Monday, June 24.

Once third floor opens, the library first and second floors will be closed until renovation completes.

This FAQ is provided to explain the renovation and address important and frequently asked questions.

Purpose

What is the purpose of this renovation project?

This renovation will add a new HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning) system, new lighting and ceiling tiles, and a sprinkler system.

Back to Top

Library Access

Is the library closed? How do I get in?

The library is NOT closed! We remain open throughout the whole summer with the following hours.

Monday - Thursday: 8 AM - 6 PM
Friday: 8 AM - 5 PM
Saturday: 10 AM - 5 PM
Sunday: 1 PM - 5 PM

The south side is closed until further notice. The north side (facing campus) is open. There are fences that may look like the library is closed, but the ADA-accessible door is not blocked and can be used to enter the library.

Back to Top

Length of Time

How long will this renovation take?

Renovation of the second floor is currently planned for completion before the start of the Fall semester. However, this timetable may change depending on renovation progress and needs.

Back to Top

Next Steps

What will happen after renovation is completed?

The library will resume all normal operations, including full access to materials which were unavailable during renovation.

Back to Top

Affected Collections and Services

What collections and services are affected by this renovation?
Relocated or reduced availability
  • Calumet Regional Archives
  • CURE
  • Institutional Effectiveness and Research
  • Labor Studies
Currently unavailable
  • All physical books except Reserves, Archives, and Reference Desk statuses
    • Includes Government Documents
  • Student PCs
    • Available in Marram computer lab during summer
  • Study rooms
  • Quiet areas
  • Printing/Scanning (students), Photocopying (everyone)
  • STC (Student Technology Consultant) support
 

Back to Top

Available Collections and Services

What collections and services are available during this renovation?

The following collections and services will remain intact during renovation, including when the library is moved to the third floor.

  • Online services (e.g. IUCAT, online journals/ebooks, databases)
  • Reference Desk books
  • Current periodicals
  • Reserves
  • Circulation
  • Reference
  • Interlibrary Loan/System Services
  • Technical Services
  • Community patron PCs and printing*
  • Adaptive Technology Center (ATC)

*Temporary changes have been made due to renovation needs.

Back to Top

Changes to Comm Patron Services

How will community patron services change during renovation?
 
These changes will begin effective Monday, June 24 - when library renovation leads to closing the first and second floor, and relocating services to the third floor.

 

What are community patrons?

Community patrons are library users who are Indiana residents or Ivy Tech students who need to use the library's services.

 

Reduced/unavailable services

Some services are unavailable or have been reduced for the final phase of renovation. All services will return to normal once renovation is completed.

  • Computers: 5-6
  • Printing: only black and white
  • No photocopying
 
Computer access/logins

If a patron needs a new login, Circulation or Reference will contact STC (Student Technology Consultants) to issue the login.

Patrons must have a valid, unexpired form of state ID (e.g. driver's license) showing Indiana residency, or an Ivy Tech card to obtain a login. Patrons will not receive a login without one of these forms of identification.

To log in, Circulation will first need to connect the computer to the campus' wireless internet service. Then, the patron will have to enter the username and password provided to them by STC.

 

Printing

The printer does not require a card swipe. However, STC needs the card when issuing logins for patrons that plan to print, or to add money to a patron account for printing.

Print jobs from community patrons are sent to a printer located near Circulation. Documents will print immediately.

Documents will not print if the patron runs out of funds on their account. The two best signs that the issue may be lack of funds are: other patrons able to print, no errors or warnings shown on the printer.

Back to Top

Disability Access

I have a disability. How does this renovation impact me?

The south side of the library will remain closed until further notice. The north side of the library remains available.

The ramp on the East side (toward Dunes Medical building) is unavailable due to library plaza construction. The ramp on the West side (toward Marram Hall) remains open and accessible.

The Adaptive Technology Center remains available within the library. It has been reduced to one PC and the CCTV until the end of renovation. Once on third floor, the room will be located in LC324 - the same spot as on first floor, just two floors up. 

Back to Top

Research/Reference Help

What if I need research/reference help during the renovation?
Reference will remain available during the summer with reduced hours on Mondays - Thursdays of 10 AM to 5 PM. Reference is available all open hours of Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.

There are a few ways to get help from reference.

  • In person at the library
  • Through reference chat
    • Chat box on this page or the library home page
    • Texting to 219-898-4457 (219-898-4HLP)
  • By phone
    • 219-980-6582
  • By E-mail

Keep in mind that there are no computers in the library available to students, faculty or staff.

If a student is in the Marram lab and needs research assistance, the reference worker can come to Marram if necessary. Contact Reference or ask the STC consultant at Marram to do so.

Back to Top

Book Access

I need a book that was previously available in the library. How can I get the book?

There are two methods for obtaining a book that was previously available.

  • "Request Delivery" in IUCAT (search with "All IUCAT" checkmarked)
  • Submit a Book Request in ILLiad

If the library can obtain the book, it will take about a week to arrive. Please plan your research needs accordingly.

More information on how to use ILLiad is available on our ILLiad Guide.

Back to Top

Immediate Book Need

I need a book immediately and cannot wait a week. What can I do?

Our page of local library catalogs can be used to find if a book is available at a nearby library. If a library has a book you want to use,, contact that library or check their catalog to make sure it is available for use. Some libraries may only allow their residents or students to use their collections.

Back to Top

Quiet Area

I need a quiet place to study. Where can I go?

Unfortunately, quiet areas are not available in the library until renovation is completed. The new Arts & Sciences building across Broadway has study rooms available for student use.

Back to Top

Other Library Housed Services

I need to use services that were housed in the library. Where do I go?

You can contact the office providing that service, or the library's Reference department by one of the methods given on this page, for further assistance.

Back to Top

Question Not Here

What if I have a question that is not listed here?

Contact the library's Reference department by one of the methods given on this page and we will answer your question as soon as possible. If it is a common or high priority question, this FAQ will be updated for its inclusion.

Back to Top