chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.



  The library has limited services and changed hours due to the Coronavirus situation. Watch our Coronavirus page for the latest information..  


W131: English Composition: Academic Search Premier

About

     The Academic Search Premier database is a multidisciplinary database.  Some of the topics are:  technology, sociology, political science, history and social work.  Thousands of full text articles are in it.  This EBSCO database is accessible from off campus, also.

To Search

   Click the link, Academic Search Premier

Special Features

ABSTRACT

     The abstract is a brief summary of the article.  It provides information to help the researcher determine if the article is a good source to use.  It is found on the detailed record page.  An example is shown in the tutorial, "Reading an Article."

 

LINKED FULL TEXT

     This link directs you to the full text which is in another EBSCO database.

 

MeSH

     The acronym, MeSH, stands for "Medical Subject Headings."  The subject headings are created by the National Library of Medicine.  This controlled vocabulary will help students know which search terms to use.  Some of the databases in the "Health/Medicine/Nursing" category use MeSH.  Please refer to the tutorial, "Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings," for details on how to use the medical subject headings.

 

REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

     Sometimes, the article is not, immediately, available.  Therefore, the researcher should use the library's interlibrary loan service, referred to as "Illiad," to obtain a copy of the desired article. To begin this procedure, the requester must click the link, "Request through interlibrary loan" under the record on the database's result list.  First-time users must fill out the registration form at http://inu.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html  Other users may log in and submit the request to the library's System Services department.  For more details about this service, please go to the LibGuide, "Using Illiad." 

 

SCHOLARLY (PEER-REVIEWED) JOURNALS

     Peer-reviewed journals consist of articles that were evaluated by two or more experts before they were published.  This limiter is found on the basic search page, the advanced search page and among the facets beside the result list.  This feature narrows the search results and retrieves scholarly research materials.  In addition, many IU Northwest professors require their students to use this feature.

 

SUBJECT TERMS

     These specialized search terms are determined by the Library of Congress.  They help students to select the appropriate search terms when researching information.  To use subject terms in an EBSCO database, CINAHL, for example, please view the tutorial, "Using CINAHL/MeSH Headings."

 

THESAURUS

     The thesaurus consists of controlled vocabulary.  It indicates which terms are broader, narrower, related to or replaced by other terms.  Many of the terms are defined, also.  This work helps students to select the appropriate terms to use in a search. 

 

360 LINK TO FULL TEXT 

    This is an institutional link.  It is not created by EBSCO. 

     The record may not include full text within the database that is being searched.  If so, the "360 Link to Full Text" might lead the researcher to the full text in another database.  This link is below the "Add to Folder" icon.  After clicking the "360 Link to Full Text," the links, "Article" and/or "Journal" might appear.  Usually, "Article" is a direct connection to the full text.  Under "Journal," additional links, e.g. "issue number" or "page number," must be clicked before retrieving the full text.  If after clicking the "360 Link to Full Text" and no links appear, the journal source might be found in the online catalog, the IUCAT.

 

1. Basic Search--This tutorial introduces researchers to some limiters, the result list, delivery tools and marking records.

5. Using Your Search History--The search history lists current searches that can be saved for later use. This tutorial explains how to edit and save searches, combine searches and edit existing saved searches.

3. Result List--The result list is a compilation of records retrieved from the current search. This tutorial demonstrates how to narrow your results, sort records, view images and add records to a folder.

4. Reading An Article--This tutorial examines a detailed record. Some of the record's features are: the delivery tools (print, save, etc.), the listen button to hear HTML articles and the PDF viewer tool to read

Parts of a Record on the Result List

  

Lessons of climate change, stories of solutions.

By:  Krebs, Martha. Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists. Jan2011, Vol. 67 Issue 1, p60-63. 4p. DOI: 10.1177/0096340210393926.

Subjects: CLIMATIC changes; CARBON offsetting; GLOBAL warming; GLOBAL temperature changes; CLIMATOLOGY; CALIFORNIA
Database: Academic Search Premier
Add to folder

Indiana University Northwest

Profile Photo
Libré Booker
Contact:
(219) 980-6547