British History in Credo: Books

Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities available under alphabetically arranged headword entries. Coverage extends across every continent and every century of history. The entries have been prepared by professional historians, and Jeremy Black, Professor of History at the University of Exeter, has acted as academic consultant.

Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.

A comprehensive chronology of entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000.

A chronology of world history through 2009.

From the first civilizations to the 21st century this wide-ranging, compulsively readable book encompasses all of world history: great ages and monumental events; the rise and fall of cultures; names, dates, and statistics, and stories galore.

Debrett's People of Today is a comprehensive study of contemporary Britain's most notable and successful people. It contains biographical details of people from the entire spectrum of British society, including Tony Blair, Paula Radcliffe and Benjamin Zephaniah. The selection of entrants is made by the editorial staff of Debrett's and entries are reviewed annually to ensure accuracy and relevance. Entries include details of career, education, family, recreations and membership of clubs as well as contact addresses. An additional feature is the correct style of address to be used when addressing correspondence to an entrant.

A unique collection of obituaries of Ireland's most distinguished individuals from the last two centuries.

Brings together obituaries from the Times of John Thadeus Delane (1841-77) and his successors, and shows how some of the leading personalities of the 19th century were viewed by a paper that was itself one of the defining institutions of the age.

A comprehensive A-Z guide to the history of Britain and its peoples packed full of detail on everything from Hadrian's Wall to the Plague to Tony Blair.

Covers the history of Britain from Roman times to the present day, and also its overseas territories during British Rule.

Contains A-Z entries on the history of Britain, from ancient and Roman Britain to the present day. Each entry lists 6-12 of the best-known books on the subject, then discusses those works in an essay of 800 to 1,000 words prepared by an expert in the field.

A comprehensive resource for topics related to Wales ranging from Snowdonia to the pampas of Patagonia, the ancient bards to the super-modern Super Furry Animals, folk heroes to Welsh Olympians, and the men and women of Wales who have excelled in art, culture, commerce and politics.

A richly fascinating and browsable 'heritage tour' of places and place-names in Britain and Ireland.

A comprehensive encyclopedia covering the close ties between Britain and the whole of the Americas, examining Britain's cultural and political legacy to the nations of the New World.