LibGuides: One Book...One Campus...One Community 2023-2024: Related Resources

Databases

CountryWatch
CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information, and daily news coverage for every country in the world.
Latin American Women Writers
Searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.

searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement that address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
This database provides personal narratives of immigrants to America and Canada through letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. It gives perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants’ countries of origin.
Migration to New Worlds
Migration to New Worlds showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, and other documents.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly LexisNexis Statistical Universe. ProQuest Statistical Insight provides federal and international statistical publications, state government and business statistical reports, statistical tables, and statistical data sets.
census.gov

Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
Bracero Oral History Project
Mexican Border Crossing Records, ca. 1903–ca. 1955
This page is a short overview of different record sets relevant to researching Mexican border crossing records at the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). For additional information about the individual series, follow the given links to the more detailed record-specific pages.
The Nation’s Immigration Laws, 1920 to 2014
The Documented Border: An Open Access Digital Archive
Separated Stories of Justice and Solidarity
Podcast: This American Life
Reports from the frontlines of the Trump administration's "Remain in Mexico" asylum policy. The podcast hears from asylum seekers waiting across the border in Mexico, in a makeshift refugee camp, and from the officers who sent them there to wait in the first place. This episode won the 2020 Pulitzer Prize for audio reporting, the first ever given for audio journalism.

Teacher/Educator Resources

Immigrant Learning Center
Immigrants and immigration play a vital role in the curricula of all subjects, from social studies and English language arts to STEM and art. The ILC Public Education Institute compiled this collection of lesson plans, curricular units and resources to help you incorporate immigration into your existing curriculum.
The Crisis at the Border: What Educators Need to Know
These classroom resources and booklists address the topic of family separations, detention centers, and the situation of unaccompanied minors. The resources also include related news headlines from recent events as well as related events in prior years.
Zinn Project: The Line Between Us: Teaching About the Border and Mexican Immigration