PsycINFO® indexes 8 publication types, 5 book types and 17 document types.
PsycINFO® provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, computers, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries, and all records are indexed using the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines will benefit from the information found within this essential resource. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include peer-reviewed journals, chapters, books and dissertations, published internationally; approximately 1,561 of the journals are comprehensively covered (“cover to cover”). Additionally, there are approximately 27 million cited references.
PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA) dedicated to creating products that make it easier for researchers to locate psychological literature relevant to their research topics. PsycINFO staff members locate and summarize psychologically relevant documents from a wide range of disciplines, and disseminate these summaries in forms suited to easy access and retrieval.
Benefits of PsycINFO
Since first being offered in print as Psychological Abstracts in 1927 and subsequently as the electronic database PsycINFO in 1967, the American Psychological Association has chronicled issues in psychology through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources. The current PsycINFO database enables researchers, students, faculty, librarians, government agencies, and others to conduct complete research in the field of psychology in resources dating to 1806.
Why should I use PsycINFO?
Because it :
Each publication indexed in PsycINFO has been carefully selected by a team of experts for relevance; direction advised by esteemed scholars, scientists, and librarians within APA's membership and the library community; professional coverage beyond psychology to include related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics, engineering, and more.
To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:
