Video--Know Your Citations
EBSCO DatabasesJSTOR DatabaseJSTOR VideosPsycINFO "Look Up Citation" FeaturePsycINFO Basic SearchPsycINFO Advanced SearchPsycINFO Results
This is the "Where Do I Begin?" page of the "How to Find Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Find Articles   Tags: articles, full text, full text searching, journals, magazines  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.iun.edu/findarticles Print Guide RSS Updates

Where Do I Begin? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citations to an Article

IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A CITATION TO AN ARTICLE:

  • Ask the librarian to recommend a database for you to research your subject
  • If the librarian is not available, go to the tab above labeled, "How Do I Find Sources?" and begin with the "Databases" box
  • Select citations for articles, not books (See the video in the drop-down menu under the tab, "Where Do I Begin?" for differences in article, book and book chapter citations)

 IF YOU HAVE A CITATION TO AN ARTICLE: 

  •  If the citation was in a database, return to the specific database, enter the title of the article and/or author and retrieve the citation

             --  Look for a PDF Full Text link or a HTML Full Text link

             --  Click on either link

  •   If full text links are not there:

             --  Click the "360 Link to Full Text," if applicable

             --  Then, click the "Article" link, if applicable

             --  If the "Article" link is not there, click the "Journal" link

             --  Next, additional links might have to be clicked, e.g., "year," "volume," "issue number" and/or "page numbers"   

              --  If these links are not there, continue to the next step

  •    Check the IUCAT to determine if the journal is available to you [See the box, "Journal/Volumes Are Listed in the Online    Catalog (IUCAT)" under the next tab, "How Do I Find the Sources?]

               --  If it is, determine if the issue you need is available.  If it is, retrieve or get the issue. 

               --  If the journal is not in the IUCAT, continue to the next step

  •    Go to Google Scholar and enter the title of the article and/or the author's name

               --  If a full text link to the article is not in this database, continue to the next step

  •    Request here for the library to get a photocopy of the article from another library through Illiad, our electronic interlibrary 

               loan system

  •    If you need additional information, click on the tabs at the top of this guide.

 

 

Contact Information

The person at the Help Desk in the Information Commons is there to help you. 

  • Come In!
  • Call Us!  Our telephone number is:  219-980-6582
  • Email Us!  Click the link, Ask A Librarian
 

Indiana University Northwest

Profile Image
Arena Stevens
Contact Info
John W. Anderson Library
Indiana University Northwest
3400 Broadway
Gary, IN 46408
(219) 980-6625
Send Email
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip