LibGuides: Substance Abuse LibGuide For Lake County, IN: Statistics, Maps, and Resources: Online Resources for Substance Abuse

Office Of National Drug Control Policy Blog

Online Resources

Above the Influence
This project provides a voice to youth speaking out for positive influence rather than drugs and alcohol.
Addiction Recovery Guide
The Addiction Recovery Guide assists individuals struggling with drug addiction and alcoholism find help that best suits their needs.
Addiction Science Network
The Addiction Science Network (ASNet) is a virtual network for the scientific study of addiction and for the application of information derived from scientific analysis to the problems of addiction.
Addiction Technology Transfer Center Network
The Addiction Technology Transfer Center Network is a multidisciplinary resource for professionals in the addictions treatment and recovery services field.
American Psychological Association
The American Psychological Association provides articles and resources on the topic of addiction.
Bureau of Labor Statistics, Counselors
BLS provides information on the counseling profession from the Occupational Outlook Handbook 2010-2011 edition.
CASAColumbia
CASAColumbia informs Americans of the economic and social costs of addiction and risky substance use and its impact on their lives; assesses what works in prevention, treatment and disease management; and encourages every individual and institution to take responsibility to reduce these health problems.
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention Publications
Search for publications, national and state statistics, treatment programs and grants available through the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC), Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors (and provides data for) six types of health-risk behaviors (including alcohol, drug and tobacco use) that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults.
Coalition Against Drug Abuse
Get information here about alcohol and drug abuse. The site also includes access to a substance abuse blog.
Cocaine Anonymous
Cocaine Anonymous provides access to publications and information.
Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America (CADCA)
CADCA provides links to upcoming training and research articles.
Drug Abuse Screening Test (DAST)
A 20-question self-test designed to make you aware of your use or abuse of drugs.
Drug Enforcement Administration
Search for statistics, prevention and treatment programs, government policies and legislation. This site contains many links to articles and web sites on various aspects of addiction.
Drug Free Action Alliance
The Drug Free Action Alliance delivers up-to-date information and develops initiatives that serve the immediate needs of those working to prevent substance abuse.
Drug Policy Alliance
The Drug Policy Alliance (DPA) is a national advocacy leader of drug law reform. Their site offers views on drug policy issues, a way to see drug policies by state, and other resources.
HealthPlace.com - Addictions Community
Comprehensive information on all types of addictions.
Indiana Criminal Justice Institute
The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute provides funding opportunities, data and publications related to substance abuse. ICJI serves as the state's planning agency for criminal justice, juvenile justice, traffic safety, and victim services.
Indiana Department of Health, Indiana Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Commission
The Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Commission exists to prevent and reduce the use of all tobacco products in Indiana and to protect citizens from exposure to tobacco smoke. Annual reports are included as resources.
Indiana Division of Mental Health and Addictions DMHA
Mission is to ensure that Indiana citizens have access to quality mental health and addiction services that promote individual, family and community resiliency and recovery (includes listing of state services and programs).
Indiana Mentoring Project
The Indiana Mentoring Project is an Indiana Youth Institute program that offers training and educational opportunities. Promotional materials are also available from this organization.
Indiana Prevention Resource Center (IPRC)
The Indiana Prevention Resource Center (IPRC) was established in 1987 to assist Indiana based alcohol, tobacco and other drug (ATOD) prevention practitioners to improve the quality of their services. Alcohol and drug data can be accessed here at the county level.
Indiana University Northwest Library Resources
Substance abuse resources available through the Indiana University Library System
Indiana Youth Institute
IYI provides data related to children at the state and county levels or pursue a custom search of their library on substance abuse issues.
Inhalant Abuse - Alliance for Consumer Education
This site includes information on what inhalant abuse is, dangers and warning signs that your child may be using inhalants, tips for talking to your kids, a downloadable brochure, and links to additional information.
Institute for Research, Education and Training in Addictions (IRETA)
The Institute for Research, Education, and Training in Addictions (IRETA) is a 501 (c) (3) organization that works with national, state, and local partners to improve recognition, prevention, treatment, research and policy related to addiction and recovery. IRETA provides educational opportunities resources for professionals.
MedLine Plus
Search MedLine Plus, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health for information and resources related to substance abuse.
Monitoring the Future
Monitoring the Future is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Publications found here include the National Survey of Drug Use.
NAADAC: the Association for Addiction Professionals
The National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors website includes a career center, publications, a code of ethics, issues briefs, links to other web sites, and more.
Narcotics Anonymous
This material is presented as a resource so that NA service bodies might benefit from others' experience and work.
National Alcohol and Substance Abuse Information Center
This site includes facts about drug addiction and alcoholism, drugs of abuse, and a rehabilitation program locator for all 50 states.
National Archives
Information about historical records of the Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration [ADAMHA] can be found here.
National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence, Inc. (NCADD)
Parents and youth, friends and family can find information here about drugs and alcohol. Those in recovery can find support and resources.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
The goal of the NIDA (a division of the National Institutes of Health) is the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of research to significantly improve prevention, treatment and policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
NIDA for Teens
The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), a component of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), created this Web site to educate adolescents ages 11 through 15 (as well as their parents and teachers) on the science behind drug abuse. NIDA enlisted the help of teens in developing the site to ensure that the content addresses appropriate questions and timely concerns.
Northwest Indiana Area Of Narcotics Anonymous
The Northwest Indiana Area of Narcotics Anonymous has meetings in Gary, Hammond and East Chicago and Merrillville. This website contains links to view online recovery literature and information about locations of meetings.
Office of National Drug Control Policy
ONDCP advises the President on drug-control issues, coordinates drug-control activities and related funding across the Federal government. This site includes research on prevention, intervention and treatment as well as links to state resources and statistics (National Drug Control Strategy Data Supplement).
Partnership for a Drug-Free America
By bringing together renowned scientists, parent experts and communications professionals, The Partnership at Drugfree.org translates the science of teen drug use and addiction for families. At drugfree.org, you can find a wealth of information, tools and opportunities to help prevent and get help for drug and alcohol abuse by teens and young adults.
Psychology Today
Detailed listings for Psychologists, Psychiatrists, Therapists, Counselors, Group Therapy and Treatment Centers are available throughout the United States and Canada.
SAMHSA Behavioral Health Treatment Services Locator
The Behavioral Health Treatment Services Locator from SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) site provides a way to search for substance abuse/addiction and mental health treatment facilities.
South Shore Area Of Narcotics Anonymous
The South Shore Area of Narcotics Anonymous website contains links to view online recovery literature as well as information about locations of meetings in Lake and Porter counties.
Substance and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Search for treatment programs, funding opportunities and statistics relating to substance abuse and mental health issues. National and State Data are available at this location.
Web MD, substance abuse search
Web MD provides articles on substance abuse
webPOISONCONTROL
- This link opens in a new window
webPOISONCONTROL® is a peer-reviewed poison control online tool that helps determine if an unintentionally swallowed substance is poisonous, before symptoms develop, and suggests steps to take in certain situations.
more...less...
At present, seven accredited poison control centers that are participating in the webPOISONCONTROL project.

Above the Influence
This project provides a voice to youth speaking out for positive influence rather than drugs and alcohol.
Addiction Recovery Guide
The Addiction Recovery Guide assists individuals struggling with drug addiction and alcoholism find help that best suits their needs.
Al-Anon/Alateen
The Official Al-Anon website provides resources for professionals and strength and hope for friends and families of problem drinkers.
Alcohol Awareness Council
The Alcohol Awareness Council is dedicated to informing the public about the use and abuse of alcohol. You will find the latest alcohol research, studies and statistical data, brought to you by government agencies, academic institutions, news sources and awareness organizations.
Alcohol Use - Self Assessment Quiz
Find access here to the MAST and AUDIT alcohol abuse screening tests.
Alcoholics Anonymous
The official Website of Alcoholics Anonymous provides access to AA published documents.
Coalition Against Drug Abuse
Get information here about alcohol and drug abuse. The site also includes access to a substance abuse blog.
The Century Council
The Century Council works with all members of the community – law enforcement, public officials, educators, parents, and students – in our fight against drunk driving and underage drinking.
The Mayo Clinic
This collection of articles includes the basics, and in-depth resources on various aspects of alcoholism and its treatment.
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
Resources are available for victims of drunk driving as well as information about how to get involved with MADD is contained in links at this site.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
NIAA (a division of the National Institutes of Health) provides funding opportunities for programs, research results, educational resources and publications.
Students Against Destructive Decisions - SADD
Originally founded as students against drunk driving, the site now includes projects to make healthy choices rather than drinking and drugging, staying violence free, reducing bullying and other mental health related topics.
Web MD, Substance Abuse and Addiction Health Center
Web MD provides articles on substance abuse and its treatment, including alcohol.

D.A.R.E.: Drug Abuse Resistance Education
D.A.R.E. America serves as a resource to communities, helping to establish and improve local D.A.R.E. programs. D.A.R.E. America provides officer training, supports the development and evaluation of the D.A.R.E. curriculum, provides student educational materials, monitors instruction standards and program results, and creates national awareness for D.A.R.E. The highly acclaimed program gives kids the skills they need to avoid involvement in drugs, gangs, and violence.
Federal Bureau of Investigation - Crime Stats
A series of statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining trends that can help you better understand crime threats both nationally and locally.
Multijurisdictional Counterdrug Task Force Training (MCTFT)
The Multijurisdictional Counterdrug Task Force Training (MCTFT) program provides unique, tuition-free, courses covering all aspects of counterdrug law enforcement and training support for community anti-drug coalitions.
Office of National Drug Control Policy
ONDCP advises the President on drug-control issues, coordinates drug-control activities and related funding across the Federal government. This site includes research on prevention, intervention and treatment as well as links to state resources and statistics (National Drug Control Strategy Data Supplement).
Indiana Criminal Justice Institute
The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute provides funding opportunities, data and publications related to substance abuse. ICJI serves as the state's planning agency for criminal justice, juvenile justice, traffic safety, and victim services.
Drug Enforcement Administration
Search for statistics, prevention and treatment programs, government policies and legislation. This site contains many links to articles and web sites on various aspects of addiction.
United Nations Office on Drugs & Crime
Search for information on drug use prevention, treatment, and care as well as drug trafficking statistics among UN member nations.