Library Books - Academic - Substance Abuse LibGuide For Lake County, IN: Statistics, Maps, and Resources - LibGuides at Indiana University Northwest

About Libraries

As centers for individual learning and research, libraries hold privacy and confidentiality for users as key tenets of operation. The American Library Association (ALA) notes that libraries have "a long-standing commitment to an ethic of facilitating, not monitoring, access to information." For this reason, libraries are a prime resource for people seeking information on substance abuse issues.

Below, we have listed books from the collections of various libraries in Northwest Indiana. Policies on use differ, but in all cases, Indiana residents can read these books within the library. Click on a book's title in these lists to confirm availability and obtain its call number, necessary for finding the book in its collection.

Substance Abuse Books by Academic Library

IU Northwest
Purdue Calumet

John W. Anderson Library
Indiana University Northwest
Catalog: http://www.iucat.iu.edu/iun
Online Contact: https://www.iun.edu/library/ask-a-librarian.htm

Breaking addiction : a 7-step handbook for ending any addiction by Lance Dodes
ISBN: 9780061987397
Publication Date: 2011
Breaking Addiction is a step-by-step guide to beating addiction of any kind—from drugs and gambling to alcoholism, overeating, and sex addiction.
Chemical Dependency by Roman Espejo
ISBN: 9780737752168
Publication Date: 2011
As part of the Opposing Viewpoints series, this book explores drug and drug abuse issues in a pro/con format.
Contingency management for adolescent substance abuse : a practitioner's guide by Scott W. Henggeler; Phillippe B. Cunningham; Melisa D. Rowland; Sonja K. Schoenwald
ISBN: 9781462502479
Publication Date: 2011
This manual provides step-by-step guidelines for implementing contingency management (CM)—one of the most effective treatments for substance abuse—with adolescents and their caregivers. Strategies are detailed for assessing substance use disorders, developing individualized cognitive and behavioral interventions, using behavioral contracts and contingencies to reinforce abstinence, and overcoming frequently encountered treatment roadblocks.
Contingency Management in Substance Abuse Treatment by Stephen T. Higgins (Editor); Kenneth Silverman (Editor); Sarah H. Heil (Editor); Joseph V. Brady (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781593855710
Publication Date: 2007
Featuring illustrative case material, the book presents a cogent empirical rationale and practical strategies for targeting major drugs of abuse and working with specific populations, including adolescents, pregnant women, and dually diagnosed and homeless individuals. Also addressed are the nuts and bolts of developing and funding contingency management programs.
The Sociology of American Drug Use by Greg S. Weaver; Charles E. Faupel; Alan M. Horowitz
ISBN: 9780195375282
Publication Date: 2009
Developed for sociology classes, this textbook addresses basic issues in the study of drug use, analyzes various social dimensions, and covers societal reactions to drug use from cultural to legal elements.
Substance abuse : a reference handbook by David E. Newton
ISBN: 9781598845099
Publication Date: 2010
This handbook covers substance abuse with topics such as historic laws and court decisions, chronology of events from prehistory to present, a bibliography of over 100 resources and more.
Survivors of addiction : narratives of recovery by Mary Addenbrooke
ISBN: 9781583917244
Publication Date: 2011
Survivors of Addiction draws on first-hand narratives to provide an overview of how and why people become addicted, and explores what happens after the addiction is left behind. Divided into four sections, it covers being caught up in addiction, how and why users stop being addicted, the early days after surviving addiction, and long-term outcomes.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Drugs and Society by Raymond Goldberg
ISBN: 9780078127564
Publication Date: 2009
This book presents current controversial issues concerning drugs and society in a debate-style format.
Trauma Services for Women in Substance Abuse Treatment by Denise Hien; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by); Lisa Caren Litt; Lisa R. Cohen; Gloria M. Miele; Aimee Campbell
ISBN: 9781433804106
Publication Date: 2008
This book is a hands-on guide for clinicians seeking to treat women who suffer from both a history of trauma and the effects of substance abuse. The intertwined nature of trauma and addiction is explored through a review of recent research, with a focus on treatment options for PTSD and addiction that together form the basis for many of the recently developed treatments for trauma and addiction co-morbidity.
Treating addiction : a guide for professionals by William R. Miller; Alyssa A. Forcehimes; A. Thomas McLellan (Afterword by); Allen Zweben
ISBN: 9781609186388
Publication Date: 2011
This book is a practitioner reference and text that focuses on how to provide effective help to clients with substance use disorders. They describe and illustrate evidence-based treatment methods, including cognitive-behavioral, 12-step, motivational, pharmacological, and family approaches. Also addressed are such crucial clinical issues as resistance, maintenance of change, treating co-occurring disorders, and spirituality.
Understanding and Working with Substance Misusers by Aaron Pycroft (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847872623
Publication Date: 2010
Understanding and Working with Substance Misusers explores the complex nature of addiction and the challenges involved in responding effectively through policy and practice. It examines the biopsychosocial elements of addiction to substances (including alcohol) and draws together key research findings from these fields to present a new framework for integrating theory and practice.

University Library
Purdue Calumet
Catalog: http://webs.purduecal.edu/library/
Online Contact: libref@purduecal.edu

List provided by Purdue Calumet University Library.

The addicted brain : why we abuse drugs, alcohol, and nicotine by Michael Kuhar; Sylvia Wrobel
ISBN: 9780132542500
Publication Date: 2012
Addiction destroys lives. In The Addicted Brain, a leading neuroscientist explains how and why this happens–and presents advances in treatment and prevention. Using breathtaking brain imagery and other research, Michael Kuhar, Ph.D., shows the powerful, long-term brain changes that drugs can cause, revealing why it can be so difficult for addicts to escape their grip.
Chronic Pain and Addiction by M. R. Clark (Editor); G. J. Treisman (Editor); T. N. Wise (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9783805597258
Publication Date: 2011
Patients with chronic pain understandably seek relief from their distress and discomfort, but many medications that alleviate pain are potentially addictive, and most chronic pain conditions only have a temporary response to opiate analgesic drugs. This volume reviews the fundamental topics that underlie the complex relationships of this controversial domain.
Counseling cops : what clinicians need to know by Ellen Kirschman; Joel Fay; Mark Kamena; Ellen M. Scrivner (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781462512652
Publication Date: 2013
Grounded in clinical research, extensive experience, and deep familiarity with police culture, this book offers practical guidance for psychotherapists and counselors. The authors depict the pressures and challenges of police work and explain the impact that line-of-duty issues can have on officers and their loved ones.
High price : a neuroscientist's journey of self-discovery that challenges everything you know about drugs and society by Carl Hart
ISBN: 9780062015891
Publication Date: 2014
In this provocative and eye-opening memoir, Dr. Carl Hart recalls his journey of self-discovery, how he escaped a life of crime and drugs and avoided becoming one of the crack addicts he now studies. Interweaving past and present, Hart goes beyond the hype as he examines the relationship between drugs and pleasure, choice, and motivation, both in the brain and in society. His findings shed new light on common ideas about race, poverty, and drugs, and explain why current policies are failing.
Hijacked Brains: The Experience and Science of Chronic Addiction by Henrietta Robin Barnes
ISBN: 9781611686753
Publication Date: 2015
This book, written from the perspective of a practicing primary care physician, interweaves patients’ stories with fascinating new brain research to show how addictive drugs overtake basic brain functions and transform them to create a chronic illness that is very difficult to treat.
Prescribed : writing, filling, using, and abusing the prescription in modern America by Jeremy A. Greene (Editor); Elizabeth Siegel Watkins (Editor)
ISBN: 9781421405070
Publication Date: 2012
Examining drugs individually, as classes, and as part of the social geography of health care, contributors to this volume explore the history of prescribing, including over-the-counter contraceptives, the patient’s experience of filling opioid prescriptions, restraints on physician autonomy in prescribing antibiotics, the patient package insert, and other regulatory issues in medicine during postwar America.
Treating addiction : a guide for professionals by William R. Miller; Alyssa A. Forcehimes; A. Thomas McLellan (Afterword by); Allen Zweben
ISBN: 9781609186388
Publication Date: 2011
This book is a practitioner reference and text that focuses on how to provide effective help to clients with substance use disorders. They describe and illustrate evidence-based treatment methods, including cognitive-behavioral, 12-step, motivational, pharmacological, and family approaches. Also addressed are such crucial clinical issues as resistance, maintenance of change, treating co-occurring disorders, and spirituality.