chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.



  The library has limited services and changed hours due to the Coronavirus situation. Watch our Coronavirus page for the latest information..  


Grants, Foundations, and Scholarships: The Foundation Center™

Individuals researching grants, foundations, or scholarships may find this guide to be a useful first step towards gathering relevant information on those subjects.

The Foundation Center

The John W. Anderson Library  is a member of the Foundation Center's Funding Information Network. The library has created an area called the Community Grants Information Collection. The collection contains many grant and financial aid directories, books on fundraising, grant or proposal writing, the creation and management of nonprofits, and philanthropy in general published by the Foundation Center

Current print publications:

  • After the Grant: The Nonprofit's Guide to Good Stewardship
  • America's Nonprofit Sector
  • Board Members' Book
  • The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing
  • The Foundation Directory
  • The Foundation Directory, Part 2
  • Foundation Fundamentals
  • Foundation Grants to Individuals
  • Foundations and Public Policy
  • The Grantseeker's Guide to Winning Proposals
  • Guia para escribir propuestas
  • Guide to Funding for International and Foreign Programs
  • National Directory of Corporate Giving
  • Securing Your Organization's Future
  • Social Justice Grantmaking II
  • The 21st Century Nonprofit: Managing in the Age of Governanc

Foundation Center's Funding Information Network Directory

The Foundation Center provides free funding information through more than 450 Funding Information Network locations (formerly called Cooperating Collections) — libraries, community foundations, and other nonprofit resource centers located across the U.S. and several countries.

Browse Funding Information Network Locations for a Network Partner near you.

Foundation Center Resources

* In - Anderson Library Use Only

*Foundation Directory Online Professional: "The nation's most comprehensive grant seeking resource for nonprofits and consultants. With over 3 million records in our grants database, it's easy to see who is receiving funding and why. You can search our fully-digitized 990 and 990-PF files by keyword, fiscal year, grant maker name, EIN, and location. To learn how to search the Foundation Directory Online, Search Tutorials and Guided Tours are available on the main page of the website."

*Foundation Grants to Individuals Online: "Providing over 10,000 records on grant makers that support individual grant seekers. Updated weekly, it's an ideal resource for students, artists, and researchers. Detailed help section with search tips, tutorials, and glossary is available on the main page of the website."

*Foundation Maps: "An interactive mapping tool that can quickly create maps that reveal patterns of giving and funding relationships."

GrantSpace "The Foundation Center’s learning community for the social sector. It offers information and resources that are specifically designed to meet the needs of nonprofits worldwide in need of know-how for securing funding and operating effective organizations."

Introduction to Finding Grants - The Foundation Center

Foundation Center Philanthropy News Digest -News

Loading ...