chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.



  The library has limited services and changed hours due to the Coronavirus situation. Watch our Coronavirus page for the latest information..  


ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Results

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Historical Newspapers including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform.

Results Page Tips

1. Modify Search

Click Modify search to make changes to your current search strategy. Or make changes to your search in the search box.

2. Search Within

Use Search within to run a search within the current results. Add additional keywords and ProQuest will look for the keywords in the set of current search results. Selecting Search within toggles you to the bottom of the search results page.

3. Create Alert, Create RSS Feed, Save Search

Create Alert sets up an email alert that you schedule and when new records are added to the database that match your search criteria, the records will be emailed to you.

Create RSS Feed sets up an RSS feed on the search strategy. Take the URL that is generated and put it into your RSS reader to begin pulling in records.

Use the Save Search to save the search strategy to your My Research account. If you are not signed in, you will be prompted to sign in. If you don’t have an account you can sign up for one here too. For more information on My Research please see the My Research section of this guide.

4. Results Tool Bar

For any items that you may have marked, use one of the tools to work with the marked items. Mark items individually or select all items on the page from the results tool bar.

Save to My Research adds the records to your My Research account where they will be stored and available each time you sign in to the My Research account.

Email or Print any marked items.

The Cite tool generates a bibliography in any of the supported styles available from the pull-down menu. Copy and paste the generated bibliography into a document and make any necessary edits. Remember to always check for accuracy.

Click Export/Save to export record citations to a citation management tool, such as RefWorks, formatted text file, such as RIS or reporting tool, such as Excel. Or save record information to file formats such as PDF or Text only.

5. Document formats and linking

Each record will contain links to Citation or Citation/Abstract and Full text - PDF. If your library has enabled tools to locate full text for you, you may see additional links here.

6. Preview

Hover over the Preview to view the major fields of the record including the abstract and subjects (if available).

7. Sort Results By

The Sort results by menu controls the sort order of the records that appear in the results page. Sort by relevance, date (oldest first), or date (most recent first). Relevance is determined by an algorithm that factors in the number of time your search terms appear in the record as well as where in the record your search terms appear.

8. Narrow Results By

Use the Narrow results by to apply additional limits (also known as filters or facets) to refine your results. The limits are pulled from the list of available indexed/searchable fields that appear in the current result set. Some of the main limits you can expect to find for ProQuest Historical Newspapers include Publication title, Document type, Tags, and Publication date. Please see the Document Types and Searchable Fields section of this guide to see a list of the indexed/searchable fields available in ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

9. Navigation and Items Per Page

Navigate to the other pages in your set of results by selecting the page number or using the Next page navigation.

Items per page is used to select how many results will display on the results page. Choose from 10, 20, 50, or 100 items.

Results Page