chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.



  The library has limited services and changed hours due to the Coronavirus situation. Watch our Coronavirus page for the latest information..  


Government Documents: Government documents related sites

This guide is for government documents

FREE RESOURCES FOR FINDING GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

  • Government Web Resources: Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room
    The Serial &Government Publications Division maintains one of the most extensive newspaper collections in the world. It is exceptionally strong in US newspapers, with 9,000 titles covering the past three centuries. With over 25,000 non-US titles, it is the largest collection of overseas newspapers in the world. Beyond its newspaper holdings, the Division also has extensive collections of current periodicals (70,000 titles) comic books (over 7,000 titles) and government publications (1 million items).
    Coverage: varies
  • GovEngine
    Includes federal, state, and municipal resources.
    Coverage varies
  • Find Legal Resources: Law Library of Congress
    Congress established its Law Library in 1832, recognizing its need for ready access to reliable legal materials. The Law Library has grown over the years to become the world’s largest law library, with a collection of over 2.65 million volumes spanning the ages and covering virtually every jurisdiction in the world.
    Coverage: varies

List courtesy of the Library of Congress

FREE DATABASES FOR FINDING GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
    Coverage: 1976 to present
  • Govinfo: U.S. Government Publishing Office
    govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. It provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
    Coverage: varies

List courtesy of the Library of Congress

THE FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY SYSTEM

The United States Government is the largest publisher in the world. It distributes materials in a variety of formats, including electronic, CD, microfiche, and paper. As part of its publishing program, the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) distributes certain classes of Government documents free of cost to designated libraries throughout the United States and its territories. These libraries are known as Federal depository libraries.

Courtesy of the Library of Congress

Directories

  • House of Representatives Member Directory 
    Listings include names, addresses, telephone numbers, and committee and subcommittee assignments.
  • Senators 
    Includes listings of Senators with links to their web sites and e-mail addresses. Also included are links to the Biographical Directory, Statistics & Lists, Senators’ Phone List, and Organizational Chart information.
  • U.S. Federal Government Agency Directory  (Louisiana State University)
    This directory "lists current/active/existing U. S. Federal Government agencies as represented in the United States Government Manual."
  • U.S. Government Manual (U.S. Government Printing Office)
    "The official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches."

List courtesy of the National Archives