Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has limited services and changed hours due to the Coronavirus situation. Watch our Coronavirus page for the latest information..
Books on Science
The American Heritage Science Dictionary
Covers all the major fields of science, from the fundamentals of chemistry, physics, biology, and mathematics to the applied realms of medicine, ecology, and computer science.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists
This alphabetically organized, illustrated biographical dictionary covers key scientists from 40 countries. Fields represented include physics, chemistry, biology, geology, astronomy, mathematics, medicine, meteorology and technology, with special attention paid to pioneer women whose achievements and example opened the way to scientific careers for others.
The Penguin Dictionary of Physics
Provides clear and concise definitions for every area of physics--from optics and acoustics to mechanics and electronics, via quantum theory and relativity.
Books on Astronomy
Astronomy Encyclopedia by
Includes encyclopedia entries authenticated by a team of respected academics, colour illustrations, photographs, artworks, and tables, and Star Maps created by Wil Tirion.
Encyclopedia of the Solar System by
Provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact.
Guide to Stars and Planets by
This practical guide to the night sky provides a host of recommendations on what to look for and when. The book can be used anywhere in the world and at any time of year.