Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has limited services and changed hours due to the Coronavirus situation. Watch our Coronavirus page for the latest information..
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
This new edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes substantial entries, short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and glossary items.
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
This work includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory. In addition, nine major entries cover each of the major disciplines (political economy; management and business; human geography; politics; sociology; law; psychology; organizational behavior) and the history and development of the social sciences in a broader sense.
The Social Science Jargon Buster
This practical, down-to-earth dictionary helps students new to the social sciences gain a thorough understanding of the key terms, from Action research to Utilitarianism. Each entry includes a concise core definition, a more detailed explanation, and an introduction to the associated debates and controversies. In addition, the book includes a useful outline of the practical application of each term, as well as a list of key figures and recommendations for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture
This new and up-to-date dictionary contains numerous references to both European and American concepts, debates and terms that are relevant today- including words such as 'boat people', 'cybernazis', 'ebonics' as well as more established words and terms, such as 'affirmative action', 'caste', 'fortress Europe' and many more.
Key Concepts in Social Research
An authoritative, crystal-clear introduction to research methods which really takes account of the needs of students for accessible, focused information to help with undergraduate essays and exams.
The A-Z of Social Research
The A-Z is a collection of entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool. Alphabetically arranged in accessible, reader-friendly formats, the shortest entries are 800 words long and the longest are 3000. Most entries are approximately 1500 words in length and are supported by suggestions for further reading.
Key Concepts in Ethnography
An accessible, authoritative, no-nonsense guide to the key concepts in one of the most widely used methodologies in social science: Ethnography.
Biographical Dictionary of Anthropologists
This biographical dictionary provides information on 322 men and women who have made or are making significant contributions in the field of anthropology. A short biography highlights each persons professional and private background and detailed analysis of the theories or approaches that each contributed to his or her individual field and a guide to their major published works are provided.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries explores the archaeologists, sites, debates, techniques, methods, and issues that are central to the global practice of archaeology. These richly illustrated volumes trace the development of the field from the ancient Greeks to the present day. Through detailed tours of major excavation sites from all over the world - Chichen Itza, Machu Picchu, Ephesus, Pompeii, the tomb of Tutankhamun - as well as more obscure sites like Brzesc Kujawski in Poland, readers gain an appreciation for the inherent challenges all archaeologists share in locating, recovering and making sense of evidence of past human lives.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology
It is paradoxical that a subject that so easily captures the imagination is so difficult for the serious layman to access. Superficial media treatments and picture-book atlases and site guides on the one hand, jargon-heavy scholarly books and narrowly focused articles on the other-there are few ways to learn about the real world of archaeology outside the college classroom or the dig site. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology changes this, in making all aspects of archaeology accessible to a broad audience of the general scientific community, educators, students, and avocational archaeologists.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
Peoples and Cultures
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers
Hunting and gathering was humanity's first and most successful adaptation, occupying at least 90 percent of human history. Until 12,000 years ago, all humans lived this way. Surprisingly in an increasingly urbanized and technological world, dozens of hunting and gathering societies have persisted and thrive world-wide, resilient in the face of change, their ancient ways now combined with the trappings of modernity.
Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures is a fascinating and informative guide to the myriad discrete ethnic and cultural groupings that have inhabited our planet over the past 6000 years. It presents - in a simple and easy-to-follow A to Z structure within five regionally based sections (The Americas, Africa, Europe, South and Central Asia and the Middle East, and East and Southeast Asia and Oceania) - clear, concise and readable histories of a significant number of peoples, nations and cultures: from the Assyrians of the ancient Middle East to the modern-day Armenians, from the Belgae of ancient Europe to the modern-day Basques.
Nigeria's Diverse Peoples
Focusing on three main ehtnic groups (Hausa-Falani, Yoruba, and Igbo) and ranging from precolonial times to independence in 1960 to the present, this breakthrough study portrays a Nigeria now striving to make a unified nation of itself. Offering a fresh understanding not just of Nigeria but of Africa as well, readers will enter the richly complex world of Nigeria's ethnic history.
South Africa's Diverse Peoples
How did South Africa become a crossroads for peoples as diverse as the Zulu, the Xhosa, the Dutch, and the Chinese? Did the end of apartheid really herald a new dawn in race relations, or have the scars of those years yet to truly heal? To answer these questions, this timely volume examines South Africa's ethnic history over 500 years. From the earliest contacts between Europeans and Africans to the country's changing role in the post-apartheid era, this reference work traces the fascinating racial history of South Africa before, during, and after the apartheid years.
Canada's Diverse Peoples
In this comprehensive reference, Historian J.M. Bumsted takes readers on a chronological tour of Canada's ethnic history from aboriginal society and the French and English "founding cultures" to the "Alien Menace" of World War I and the influx of refugees after World War II. From the botched storming of the ship Komagata Maru and its forced return to India to Quebec's separatism, Bumsted explores one of the most important themes in Canadian historical development.
Iran's Diverse Peoples
Written by a social anthropologist educated in Iran and England, this analysis presents vital statistics on the Persians, Kurds, Turks, Lurs, Assyrians, Arabs, and other pastoral and urban groups of Iran, highlighting their differing languages, religions, cultural practices, political agendas, and current problems. The settling of nomadic tribes, the unveiling of women, the Islamic Revolution, OPEC, Soviet intervention, Kurdish oppression - these and other contentious topics are all examined with respect to their impact on Iran's ethnic entities.
The Former Soviet Union's Diverse Peoples
The Former Soviet Union's Diverse Peoples provides an overview of the peoples and events in the historical development of the Russian and Soviet empires. Documenting the Russian conquest and domination of more than 100 large and small national groups, the book details ethnic migrations, rivalries, and conflicts against the backdrops of key historic events such as the Russian Revolution, World Wars I and II, the Cold War, and the breakup of the Soviet Union.
SAGE Key Concepts series: Key Concepts in Community Studies
This book defines the current identity of community studies, provides a critical but reliable introduction to its key concepts, and is an engaging guide to the key social research methods used by community researchers and practitioners.
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary has long been considered the standard reference source for information on holidays and other events. This new edition will include more than 3,300 holidays, festivals, commemorations, holy days, feasts and fasts, and other observances from all parts of the world-- international, national, regional, and local.
Keywords for American Cultural Studies
Entries in this volume synthesize a great deal of information about the historical and contemporary meanings of many of the central terms that structure the fields of American studies and cultural studies; they provide contexts for the usage of those terms by discussing how their meanings have developed over time; and they may even unlock a few mysteries and break a few codes.
A contemporary analysis of the people, cultures, and society within the regions that make up Eastern Europe.