LibGuides: Chemistry: Articles & Databases

CAS SciFinder

SciFinder is a comprehensive research discovery application enabling users to search CAS content.

SciFinder includes:

Chemical Substances per CAS Registry
References per CAplus
Reactions per CASREACT
Chemical Suppliers per CHEMCATS
Regulated Chemicals per CHEMLIST

SciFinder is available to all IU Northwest students, faculty, and staff. If you are using SciFinder for the first time, you will need to create a User ID using your IU Northwest e-mail address. You can complete the SciFinder registration process under the CAS SciFinder link within Chemistry Resources on this page.

SciFinder Tutorials:

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to check if we have access to a specific article online, by searching for the full article title. This feature only works off campus for IU Northwest students, faculty and staff, and will require a login from off campus. Advanced Search available on Google Scholar's main page.

These resources are a starting point for research. Depending on your topic, other resources in the All Resources tab may be more helpful. If you need help, please Ask a Librarian.

Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,506 journals, including full text for 3,229 non-open access peer-reviewed titles.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
American Chemical Society Web Editions
This database contains a collection of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences as published by the American Chemical Society.
CAS SciFinder
First-time users need to create a User ID using your IUN e-mail address. SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows users to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
ScienceDirect Physical Sciences College Edition
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

Chymistry of Isaac Newton
New research on Newton's chymistry with an online edition of his manuscripts (at least 131 manuscripts).
MEDLINE with Full Text
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Nature Journal Archive
Nature Journal Archive is an archive of past issues of the Nature journal.
Nature Journals Online
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology. Nature also provides rapid and authoritative news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized in three databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLOS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals. The journals vary in their selectivity and contain differing amounts of commentary articles from opinion leaders in a variety of scientific disciplines. The journals are editorially independent.
Reaxys
Reaxys is a web-based tool for the retrieval of chemistry information and data from published literature, including journals and patents.
Skillport Engineering Collection
Skillport Engineering Collection provides online access to books focused on engineering. It includes topics such as aerospace, chemical engineering, mathematics, physics, sustainability and many other topics.
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Wiley Online Library
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources, including e-books and journals, covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Full text available for IU Northwest subscriptions.