It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has limited services and changed hours due to the Coronavirus situation. Watch our Coronavirus page for the latest information..
Public Affairs, Public Service, and Public Administration Resources: Law Resources
This guide was created to assist students in meeting their research objectives. It includes books, electronic resources, journals, and other materials.
These resources are a starting point for research. Depending on your topic, other resources in the All Resources tab may be more helpful. If you need help, please Ask a Librarian.
Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
Formerly LexisNexis® Academic. Nexis Uni provides comprehensive access to credible news, business, and legal research for college students and faculty.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,506 journals, including full text for 3,229 non-open access peer-reviewed titles.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
American Civil Liberties Union Papers provides papers focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
The Annual Review of Law and Social Science covers the complex connections between law, culture, social structure, and society by focusing on social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules, institutions, processes, and behaviors.
Congress.gov provides federal legislative information, with several options for finding bills, resolutions, legislative histories, presidential nominations, treaties, and committee reports from 1973 to the present.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains records selected from the most important journals and magazines related to criminal justice and criminology. Many of the full-text sources are peer-reviewed and available with no embargo. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
The Congressional Research Service, an arm of the Library of Congress, serves the legislative process by providing Congress with non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis on a variety of topics. This resource collects some of that work.
New name: Gale eBooks. Virtual Reference Library electronically provides complete encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more in many areas of study. Categories include arts, biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
Virtual Reference Library electronically provides complete encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more in many areas of study.
This database provides various historical treastises and similar monographs, including for multiple countries in various languages, as well as comparing them in various ways such as to ancient law.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises comprises from the 19th and early 20th centuries on British Commonwealth and American law, including analytical, theoretical and practical literature in casebooks, local practice manuals, letters, speeches, etc.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources is a search engine database comprised of United States codes, constitutional conventions and compilations, and municipal codes.
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 encompasses the most celebrated and fascinating trials and crimes of the extensive time period covered. It comprises thousands of books and pamphlets and covers adultery, commercial law, conspiracy, etc.
The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1823–1978 contains a comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitioners—many who later became judges and associates of the Supreme Court itself.
It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions.
Social Sciences Full Text provides access and indexing for over 625 social science periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
The Studs Terkel Radio Archive provides the audio of Studs' radio interviews during his career at WFMT in Chicago between 1952 and 1997. His program covered music, health care, labor studies, diversity issues including history and culture, and a wide range of additional topics.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 contains primary sources for supreme court activity. It features 11 million pages and more than 350,000 separate documents from approximately 150,000 Supreme Court cases.
