Staff available in the Government Publication Department, Data Center, and EJ Resource Center to assist users are:
The Government Publications Department Office is located on the 2nd floor of the library in Room 224. The collection is located primarily on the second floor and consists of a variety of materials including:
The following services are available through the Government Publications department:
Federal government sources are available in a wide array of subjects including:
Government publications are included in the Library's online catalog (IUCAT). Publications are primarily shelved or filed using the U.S. Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) classification system which arranges materials by the issuing agency. A number of the most used federal government publications are shelved in other collection areas of the library (Reference, general book collection and periodicals) using the Library of Congress system.
The IU Northwest Library has access to USA.gov, Congress.gov, and U.S. Census Bureau and is planning for a depository library system that will become primarily electronic. While the Library is not a depository library for State of Indiana publications, we purchase and provide access to a number of state and local government information and data sources.
The Indiana University Northwest Library became a Congressionally-designated Federal Depository Library in 1966, its primary clientele being the citizens of the First Congressional District of Indiana (Lake, Porter, and La Porte Counties). It selects approximately 28 percent of all tangible (Print, Microfiche, Topographic Maps, and CD-ROM) materials offered for sale by the Superintendent of Documents. The publication of these Governmental materials is supported by citizens' payment of taxes, and, as such, there are no restictions on access or usage.
The majority of the documents are shelved on the Library's second floor; some are also located in Reference and the Second and Third floors of the Library.
Several documents in our collection are shelved using the SuDocs (Superintendent of Documents) classification. Our collection development strengths are Education, Health, Census, Justice, and Congressional hearings.
Current Lettering for SuDoc Class Stems
As of May, 2014, the current lettering used for SuDoc class stems selected by our department are:
AE National Archives and Records Administration
C Commerce Department
C Census Department
CR Civil Rights Commission
This Commission investigates allegations of the denial of voters' rights; discrimination claims on the basis of race, religion, age, and disability.
ED United States Department of Education
Founded in 1980, some of the main goals of this Department include:
--data collection on America's schools;
--establishing and monitoring responsible federal financial aid disbursement practices;
--enforcing anti-discrimination measures, thus ensuring all citizens the right to equal education oppotunities; and,
--addressing educational topics and concerns on a national level.
EP Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
The EPA's role is to establish and enforce environmental regulations, and to protect the environment and citizens from health hazards.
Researchers in disciplines including biology, chemistry, geosciences, nursing/allied health, the School of Public and Environmental Affairs, and Criminal Justice, often rely on resources published and administered by the EPA.
GA Government Accountability Office (GAO).
The GAO is a nonpartisan agency responsible for ensuring the responsible spending of Americans' taxpayer monies.
Audits of Congressional agencies are regularly performed, and the GAO provides advice and feedback as to how well the Government is carrying out its programs and policies; suggestions for improvement are given, as appropriate.
GP Government Printing Office
GS General Services Administration
HE Health and Human Services Department
HH Housing and Urban Development Department
HS Homeland Security
I Interior Department
Some of its bureaus/offices include:
--Bureau of Land Management
--National Park Service
--United States Geological Survey
J Justice Department
L Labor Department
LC Library of Congress (LOC).
The LOC is responsible for administering the National Copyright System, and contains rare historic documents, including the Gutenberg Bible and Thomas Jefferson's personal library collection (which served as the Library of Congress' founding).
Librarians and Library/Information Science students rely on the LOC's resources to provide meaningful information to Library patrons utilizing online catalogs and periodicals databases, including subject headings and assigning appropriate Library of Congress/Superintendent of Documents' classification schemas to Library resources.
LR National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)
The NLRB determines if it is appropriate for employees to have Unions, and ensures that fair labor practices occur in the private sector. There are instances where the NLRB needs to refer clients to other agencies to resolve issues:
--The DOL's Wage and Hour Division
--The Occupational Safety and Health Division
--The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
NAS National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
NS National Science Foundation (NSF)
The NSF provides Federal funding to support college/university studies in mathematics, computer science, and social sciences' disciplines.
PE Peace Corps
PM Personnel Management Office
PR President of the United States
PREX Executive Office of the President (EOP).
Created in 1939 by President Franklin D. Roosevelt, and overseen by the White House Chief of Staff, the EOP is responsible for providing support the President, and to ensure effective governance.
Some specialty subgroups under the auspices of the EOP include:
♦ Office of Management and Budget
♦ Office of National Drug Control Policy
♦ Office of Science and Technology Policy
♦ Office of the Vice President
♦ Office of the United States Trade Representative
PRVP Vice President of the United States
S State Department
SBA Small Business Administration
SI Smithsonian Institution
SSA Social Security Administration
T Treasury Department
Some highlights of the importance of the Treasury Department include:
X and Y Congress