Skip to main content

How to Find Articles: How Do I Find the Sources?

Introduction

If you have not begun your research and the librarian is not available, begin by retrieving the "Resources by Subject" list (see "Databases" below).  Select the subject link that covers your subject and pick a database to begin searching for citations.

                                                                                                   OR

If you know which database to search, click the "Resources A-Z" link below  and select the database by name.  Do a search and select appropriate citations.


  

After you have selected a citation in a database, consult the "Full Text Links" box on this page to learn how to retrieve the full text, if available.

If the full text is not in a database, search the online catalog, IUCAT, to possibly find a print copy of the article.  Check the box,  "Journals/Volumes Are Listed in the Online Catalog (IUCAT)," on this page.

If the article is not in the database you are using, look up the title of the article in Google Scholar. Read the tips in the "Google Scholar" box below.

Databases

IF YOU DO NOT KNOW THE TITLE OF A DATABASE TO SEARCH AND YOU DO NOT HAVE A CITATION TO AN ARTICLE: 

  • Browse the databases by subject
  • Click the link, "Resources by Subject," below 

 

IF YOU KNOW THE TITLE OF THE DATABASE YOU WANT TO SEARCH: 

  • Click the "Resources A-Z" link below to access databases by title

Full Text Links

IF YOU GOT A CITATION TO AN ARTICLE FROM A DATABASE, THE ARTICLE MAY BE CONNECTED TO A FULL TEXT LINK.

You may find different types of full text links below or to the side of citations in databases.  However, they are not in every database.  Below are listed various types.

       HTML FULL TEXT LINK

  • The HTML (Hypertext) link is below the citation in the database, usually. 
  • It does not have accurate pagination, i.e. Each article begins with page 1.  When given a choice, select the PDF Full Text link to get a copy with accurate pagination, i.e. The first article may begin on page 3.

  

       PDF FULL TEXT LINK

  • In some databases the PDF full text link is below the citation.  In other databases, it may be to the right of the article title. 
  • Click the PDF link
  • To print the article, locate and click the Adobe print icon

       360 LINK TO FULL TEXT

  • This is an institutional link.  It is not in each database.
  • The "360 Link to Full Text" might be available to direct the researcher to the full text in another database.
  • This link is below the citation in some databases.

      After clicking the "360 Link to Full Text:"

  •  The links, "Article" and/or "Journal" might appear. 

                  --   "Article" is a direct connection to the full text.

                  --  Under "Journal," additional links, e.g. "issue number" or "page number," must be clicked before retrieving the full text.

  •   If no links appear after clicking the "360 Link to Full Text," see the box below entitled, "Which Journals/Volumes Are Listed in the Online Catalog (IUCAT)?"

Journals/Volumes Are Listed in the Online Catalog (IUCAT)

   IF YOU HAVE A CITATION FOR AN ARTICLE:

  • Determine if the library has a specific journal by doing a "Title Search" in the IUCAT (online catalog) or by doing a "Periodical Title Search" in the IUCAT Classic.  The journals may be in print or electronic format.  Click the link below to access the online catalog and begin your search. 

 

  •  The current print copies of journals are in alphabetical order on the first floor at the Periodicals Desk in the John W. Anderson Library.
  •  The older copies are shelved on the second floor.

 

Google Scholar

IF YOU HAVE A CITATION FOR AN ARTICLE

  •    You can use Google Scholar to help you find full text.
  •    IU Northwest students, faculty and staff can use the search box below to run a search.
  •    Look to the right of citations in search results for links that say "Full-Text @ IUN" or start with a format such as [PDF] or [HTML] to reach the article.
  •    After clicking the Search button, you will be asked to sign in with your IU Northwest username and passphrase.    

 

Indiana University Northwest

Scott Hudnall's picture
Scott Hudnall
Contact:
John W. Anderson Library
3400 Broadway
Gary, IN 46408
(219) 980-6931
Website / Blog Page