LibGuides: Autism and Education: Communication and Behavioral Aspects

Introduction

Children learn to communicate and behave in different ways. Some autistic children will not talk at all. Others are reclusive. A variety of methods are used to communicate with an autistic child and to teach an autistic children how to interact with others.

The resources on this page will direct you to information about various techniques and styles used to help children with autism communicate and become socially active.

Communication

Psychology--Behavior

Journal of Special Education (E-Journal)

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association, offers complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark psychology journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association, offers complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark psychology journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. Includes basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, social psychology and social processes.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This citation database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The majority of articles are peer-reviewed.
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.

Articles

Indiana University Northwest

Scott Hudnall

Email Me

Contact:

John W. Anderson Library
3400 Broadway
Gary, IN 46408

(219) 980-6931